HLC Accreditation

Higher Learning Commission (HLC) Reaffirmation of Accreditation

View the HLC Third Party Comment Notice.

OBU is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC), which reviews colleges and universities every 10 years to ensure institutions meet the HLC's criteria for accreditation through a peer review process. OBU has been accredited since 1952 and received its last reaffirmation of accreditation in 2017-2018. OBU is scheduled to be reviewed for reaffirmation of accreditation during the 2027-2028 academic year.

The HLC's Board of Trustees adopted new Criteria for Accreditation, Assumed Practices, and Obligations of Affiliation in February 2012 that became effective on January 1, 2013. The five Criteria for Accreditation include

  1. Mission
  2. Integrity: Ethical and responsible conduct
  3. Teaching and Learning: Quality, Resources, and Support
  4. Teaching and Learning: Evaluation and Improvement
  5. Resources, Planning, and Institutional Effectiveness

HLC Steering Committee at OBU

In order for OBU to provide a comprehensive, evidence-based Assurance Argument to HLC, OBU has organized a steering committee comprised of faculty and administrators to guide the university's reaffirmation efforts. An orientation session for the full HLC Steering Committee was held Friday, February 27, 2015. Members of the Steering Committee, organized by Criterion committees, include the following:

Criterion 1 Will Smallwood*
Dale Griffin
Glenn Sanders
Criterion 2 David Houghton *
Karen Cotter
Scott Pace
Holly Edwards
Criterion 3 Brad Jett *
Craig Walker
Jeanne Akin
Paul Roberts
Criterion 4 Bret Roark *
James Vernon
Pam Robinson
Sarah Marsh
Criterion 5 Randy Smith*
Bruce Perkins
Randolph Johnson