Skip area navigation

University to Host Hanging of the Green Dec. 4 Featuring Handel’s “Messiah”

December 2, 2021

OBU will present its 83rd annual Hanging of the Green Saturday, Dec. 4, at 7:30 p.m. in Raley Chapel’s Potter Auditorium. The program features a combined choir and orchestra performing Handel’s “Messiah,” as well as special recognition of outstanding seniors. The entire community is invited to attend the festive and free holiday celebration.

The first OBU Hanging of the Green ceremony was held in WMU Memorial Hall in 1937. After the singing of carols, representatives from all dormitories lit candles of good will and carried the light to their own houses. The custom of Hanging of the Green has continued, though it moved in 1945 to the newly completed Brittain Hall Library, in 1957 to the University Auditorium and in 1961 to Raley Chapel.

Three choirs will combine into one mass choir for the performance, including the Bison Glee Club, the Bisonette Women’s Glee Club and the University Chorale. They will be accompanied by an orchestra and the performance will be conducted by Dr. Jim Vernon, chair of the Division of Music, Burton H. Patterson Professor of Music and professor of music. The University Ringers, directed by Dr. Patricia Nelson, associate professor of music education, will perform pre-concert music in the Raley Chapel foyer.

Soloists for “Messiah” include Reinaldo Figueroa, Nicholas Stark, Cason West, Makalah Jessup, Ryleigh Andrews, Nathan Henager, Valarie Monteith, Laura Stewart and Makayla Freeman.

During the service, the University will also recognize 20 outstanding seniors, 10 male and 10 female. The students were nominated and selected by OBU faculty to be given the honor of hanging the green during the ceremony. The 2021 Hanging of the Green honorees include Nathan Henager, vocal performance major from Newcastle, Oklahoma; Samuel Anquoe, psychology pre-counseling major from Owasso, Oklahoma; Landon Johnson, vocal music education major from Ardmore, Oklahoma; Emily Lawrence, elementary education and special education double major from Ponca City, Oklahoma; Kyle Daughabaugh, communication studies major from Burleson, Texas; Justin Koonce, accounting major from Oklahoma City; Daniel Campbell, computer science major from Fletcher, Oklahoma; Sarah Dean, elementary education and special education major from Meeker, Oklahoma; Laramie Snow, biochemistry major from Amarillo, Texas; and Morgan Krispense, nursing major from Owasso, Oklahoma.

The remaining honorees include Micah Hinson, professional accountancy major from Broomfield, Colorado; Sanaa Boykins, communication studies major from Yukon, Oklahoma; Madelyn Willison, family science major from Denton, Texas; Lauren Jones, biblical studies and philosophy double major from Elk City, Oklahoma; Tyler McPheeters, mathematics major from Tulsa, Oklahoma; Zachary Young, biochemistry major from Shawnee, Oklahoma; Madison Stone, creative writing major from Tecumseh, Oklahoma; Andreja Peciuraite, finance major from Vilnius, Lithuania; Christopher Drew Trent, communication studies major from North Richland Hills, Texas; and William Kohman, accounting major from Austin, Texas.