Skip area navigation

College of Business Announces Outstanding Senior Award Winner, Scholarship Winners

May 16, 2020

Hayden Ashley is the winner of the Dickinson College of Business’s 2019-20 Outstanding Senior in the College of Business award. The faculty from the College made the announcement via a Zoom conference call posted on the University social media channels.

Awards to outstanding seniors in all Colleges and Divisions are typically presented in a special awards chapel near the conclusion of the spring semester, which was not held this year due to the University’s move to distance learning. Instead, these students received a personal touch online in their individual presentations.

The Outstanding Senior in the College of Business award is given to the outstanding graduating senior within the College. In selecting the recipient, the faculty considers excellence in scholarship and potential for significant achievement.

Dr. David Houghton, dean of the College of Business, led the Zoom presentation, joined by other faculty with words of congratulations.

Dr. Rich Rudebock, Robert L. and Sara Lou Cargill Chair and professor of business, shared remarks about Ashley’s accomplishments on campus and his excellence in the classroom.

“I’d like to congratulate Hayden on his achievement. This is a significant achievement, primarily because not only is Hayden an excellent student, a very hard worker with an incredible attitude, but he’s a world-class athlete. He has done academically what he’s been able to do while being a two-sport athlete, and that’s really a pretty big deal, especially at OBU and especially as an accounting major and how difficult that major is, to hold those kinds of grades while still competing the way he did.”

Dr. John Cragin, professor of social entrepreneurship and international business, and Gerry Nixon, associate professor of accounting, likewise shared congratulatory remarks, describing the leadership and academic excellence Ashley demonstrated throughout his time in the accounting program in the College of Business.

Ashley is graduating magna cum laude with a degree in professional accountancy. He is a two-sport student-athlete who is a wide receiver, punter and kicker on the Bison football team and a decathlete on the track team. He won the Evans T. Moseley Leadership Award in 2019, given to a rising senior who demonstrates the greatest leadership potential.

The College of Business also announced its list of scholarship award winners.

Justin Koonce received the Accounting Major Scholarship. Micah Hinson and Brianna Yeager received the Bae Williams Scholarship. Emma Greathouse received the Business Incentive Scholarship and the Charles J. Oliver Jr. Family Scholarship.

Christin Bennett, Luke Campbell, Daniel Campbell, Audrey Harlow and Christopher Hawkins received the Business School Scholarship. Dawson Jones received the Chauncey Scott-Pottawatomie County Chapter CPA Scholarship.

Eighteen students received the Clifford and Isabell Zoll Memorial Scholarship. These students include Christin Bennett, Cassie Boboltz, Daniel Chandler, Taylor Gilbert, Anthony Gorum, Audrey Harlow, Christopher Hawkins, Micah Hinson, Abbigail Hite, Jakob Knutson, Tyler Koonce, Christin Muller, Jared North, Katelyn Onkst, Renae Passe, Arielle Quartuccio, Jacob Smith and Brianna Yeager.

Five students received the Doris L. Taylor Scholarship in Business, including Daniel Chandler, Bryan Geurkink, Steven Johnson, Dawson Jones and Sara Stanton.

Jacob Fuller received the D. and C. Bardwell Senior Scholarship in Business and Jackson Winn received the Dr. Dan Reeder Business Scholarship. Tyler Koonce earned the Excellence in Accounting Award, while Larashleigh Wallace received the Henry and Jo Ann McCabe Scholarship for Entrepreneurship.

Six students received the Intro to Business Class Scholarship. These students include Joshua Graham, Noah Higgins, Moriah Nolan, Karlie Norwood, Katelyn Onkst and James Stout.

Morgan Randol and Andrew Riley were selected for the Janet Marshall Hudson scholarship, while Deise Ferrara received the JC Penney Business Scholarship. Cassidy Spotts received the Johnarline Hudson Women in Business Scholarship, while Anna Clayton and David Salters received the Leo Oppenheim and Co. Scholarship.

Christin Muller received the Lloyd G. Minter Scholarship of Excellence. Six students received the Lynn G. Smith Memorial Scholarship. These students include Cassie Boboltz, Anthony Gorum, Audrey Harlow, Samuel Hawkins, Steven Johnson and Dawson Jones.

Taylor Gilbert received the M. and L. Landers Scholarship and Caitlyn Stickney received the Margaret and John Kennedy Business Scholarship. His/ Chen received the McAlister Scholarship while Audrey Harlow received the Raymond and Joan Smith Scholarship. Brianna Yeager received the R.D. and Bonnie Smith Scholarship while Christin Muller received the W. Burton and V. Morris Business Scholarship.