Skip area navigation

OBU Broadcast Journalism Students Compete in OBEA Annual Media Competition

April 30, 2019

A group of OBU broadcast journalism students recently competed in the media competition at the annual conference hosted by the Oklahoma Broadcast Education Association. The award ceremony was held April 4 at the Skirvin Hilton in Oklahoma City. Stephen Draper, instructor of broadcast journalism and digital media arts, took the group to the competition.

Jacob Jolly took second place in the radio narrative long category. CJ Downum placed first and Tamlyn Price placed third in the radio narrative short category.

Sheridan Wiles captured second place in the screenwriting category with “Cupidity Pilot ‘Death of a Family.’” Wyatt Winters took third in the same category with “The Radio Spirit.”

Zachary Bush earned second place in the TV music video category with “For Your Glory.”

Jolly and Olivianna Calmes placed second with “Spiritual Rest” in the TV narrative category. Calmes was also the winner of an OBEA scholarship.

Other OBU students participating in the conference included Braden Wade, Ashton Smith, Mya Hudgins, Easton Oliver, Sean “Rory” Taylor, Loren Rhoades and Austin Prentice.

The Oklahoma Broadcast Education Association members include the state’s largest public universities, regional universities, community colleges and public colleges and universities. The OBEA members work closely with the Oklahoma Association of Broadcasters to promote quality broadcast education and professional preparation. By combining the needs of the industry with the rigors of education, the OBEA is leading the way in preparing the next generation of broadcasting professionals.