Skip area navigation

College of Nursing Holds Commissioning Ceremony for Class of 2020

August 24, 2018

The OBU College of Nursing held its annual Nursing Commissioning Ceremony Thursday, Aug. 23, in the Craig-Dorland Theatre inside Shawnee Hall on the OBU campus.

The ceremony welcomed the new students and officially started their education as nurses. These students, who will graduate in 2020, were recognized for their achievement of entering nursing school. The ceremony recognized the emphasis on patient-centered care and the nurse’s responsibility to always put patients first. It affirmed the students’ call to nursing and gave them their charge to uphold these obligations from the first day of nursing school and throughout their careers.

Dr. Lepaine McHenry, dean of the OBU College of Nursing, led the class of 2020 in the OBU nursing student pledge. This pledge honors and reiterates all of the expectations of being an OBU Nursing Graduate.

A total of 35 students from the College of Nursing class of 2020 participated in the ceremony, including Megan Allen, Kelsey Booker, Taylor Boyd, Gabriella Brasher, Kelsey Bumgarner, Elisha Coffin, Ashley Cuchiara, Ashley Ellis, Sameera Freed, Britley Gardner, Alaina Gilginas, Melissa Gravelle, Juliet Hale, Madison Hill, Logan Hime, Megan Kalinowski, Corinne Larsen, Xu Liu, Reagan Mann, Emily Moore, Jillian Murphy, Belle Nelson, Diane Ngebichie, Hanna Norfleet, Mackenzie Palmer, Abbie Poole, Spencer Price, Charlotte Ramirez, Rachel Ridgway, Hannah Robinson, Devyn Siegfried, Sarah Smith, Abbie Westfall, Carrie Wilkins and Yannah Wind.

Kim Swyden, executive director of ministries of Jesus, delivered the keynote address. During the speech, Swyden affirmed their call to nursing and congratulated them on their achievement of entering nursing school.