Skip area navigation

Former OBU President Agee Receives Educator Award

June 27, 2008

Agee began his service in Baptist higher education 52 years ago. He served as OBU's 13th president from 1982-98. During his presidency, OBU experienced significant growth and attracted national recognition for the quality of its faculty, its students and its education programs. The university became known among church-related colleges and universities for its involvement in missionary outreach and international activity.

Agee has been involved actively in numerous national educational and denominational activities and often is called upon to serve in leadership roles for various national organizations. Following his retirement from OBU, Agee became executive director of the Association of Southern Baptist Colleges and Schools. The organization, which became the IABCU in 2006, includes 51 Baptist-affiliated schools across the nation. Agee retired from the IABCU in 2007.

"I wish I had the opportunity to say a special personal 'thank you' to every faculty and staff member in every one of our schools," Agee said while addressing the IABCU board. "The Apostle Paul's feelings for the church at Philippi really do express my sentiment: 'I thank my God for every remembrance of you.' At the same time, I feel compelled to continue my commitment to pray for this family of institutions on a regular basis."

Agee and his wife, Nelle, a former OBU education professor, reside in Jackson, Tenn.

The association's award recognizes Dr. Charles D. Johnson who served as chairman of the Southern Baptist Education Commission for 21 years. He was the author of Higher Education of Southern Baptists and served in faculty and administrative posts at Ouachita Baptist University, Arkansas A&M College, Blue Mountain College and Baylor University throughout his career.