Skip area navigation

OBU Honors 420 Years of Service

May 8, 2008

Carole Corley, data entry clerk in the OBU business office, was recognized for 40 years of service. She joined the OBU staff in 1968. An audio-visual presentation during the banquet noted that Corley's first year on the university staff was the same year Apollo 8 orbited the moon. The timeline presentation also highlighted current events for other five-year increments.

Dr. Lana Bolhouse, dean of the School of Nursing, and Dr. Ronda Hall, professor of Spanish, were honored for 35 years at the University. Four individuals were honored for a quarter-century of service, including Bobby Cox, baseball coach and instructor of kinesiology and leisure studies; Tony Fitzgerald, auto mechanic and welder; Marcia McQuerry, senior computer programmer/analyst, and Teri Walker, degree counselor.

Those honored for 20 years of service were Dr. Marilyn Haller, Violet Sturgeon Minton professor of early childhood education; David Price, microcomputer technician; and Dr. Glenn Sanders, professor of history.

Five individuals were recognized for 15 years of service, including Stephanie Cash, secretary in the School of Nursing; Pam Fink, softball coach and instructor of kinesiology and leisure studies; Dr. Bret Roark, Ralph and Marie Barby professor of psychology; Dr. Pam Robinson, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences; and Richard Shannon, campus safety officer.

Five people were honored for a decade of service at OBU, including Jack Cantrell, campus safety officer; Dr. Brad Jett, James E. Hurley associate professor of biology; Jasmin Johnson, assistant professor of nursing; John Little, director of estate and gift planning; and Mike Manlapig, assistant to the athletic director and intramural sports director.

Those honored for five years of service were Dr. Paulette Belshe, assistant professor of teacher education; Karen Cotter, assistant professor of nursing; Lauri Fluke, controller; Walter Hughey, microcomputer/network technician; and Brad Humphrey, electrician.

Five individuals who are retiring during the 2007-08 academic year also were recognized during the banquet. Those include Rhetta Hudson, associate professor of music; Norma Partridge, associate professor of music; Susan Sober, secretary to the dean of the College of Arts and Sciences; Dr. Doug Watson, professor of English; and Dr. Tom Wilks, Jewell and Joe L. Huitt professor of applied ministry.