Skip area navigation

Last of Bratton's Records Falls

February 23, 2005

It has taken five different athletes, but the last of those nine marks fell Feb. 19 at the Oklahoma Christian Invitational when Kyta Ferrer ran a school record 2:53.98 in the indoor 1000 meters.

"We're talking about a potential NAIA Hall of Famer in Brandy," said OBU coach Ford Mastin. "Overall, I think she's the best we've had, when you consider all the events she was successful in. It's just amazing that all of those records are already gone."

Ferrer won the event with a national qualifying time and got her second school record in as many weeks after etching her name in the record books in the indoor 800 in Nebraska.

OBU hit a total of 24 qualifying marks in the final meet before nationals. Several other athletes have already qualified and more have met provisional standards.

In the latest meet, Kelsey Engstrom qualified in the mile run, winning in 5:09.99. Keyonna Hornbuckle won and qualified in the 600 meters at 1:38.34, with Kyli Bean getting second with a qualifying time of 1:38.82.

Three Lady Bison scored qualifying marks in finishing 1-2-3 in the 800 meters. Melissa Mount led the way at 2:18.75, followed by Kelsey Engstrom at 2:19.77 and Chandra Huckabay at 2:19.97.

Mirriam Kaumba won the 3000 meters with a qualifying time of 9:41.42.

Mai Fukada qualified in the triple jump with a winning mark of 37-7.5, while Deena Almohandis matched her qualifying height in the high jump of 5-4.25 in a second place finish.

Sara Thurber matched her pentathlon mark of 3134 and will likely qualify for nationals with that score.

OBU's mile relay team won with a qualifying mark of 3:56.35.

Also for OBU, Becka Brock won the 5000 meters in 19:03.95, followed by Katie Rader and Sarah Hale in second and third; and Penny Dunaway won the 60 meter hurdles in 9.42.

For the men, Pat Brown qualified in the 400 meters at 49.65 with Clint Goodson in second with a provisional time of 49.74. Brown also won the 60 meter hurdles with a qualifying mark of 8.09 seconds, with Lamar Baskin in second with a qualifying 8.29.

Daniel Ellis won the 5000 meters in 15:14.39, qualifying for nationals and Landon Willets won in the mile, qualifying at 4:14.89. Willets also hit a qualifying standard in the 800 meters at 1:56.43.

Dominique Chan-Low won the triple jump with a qualifying mark at 46-8.5. Jeremiah Campo qualified in the shot put with a heave of 50-5, good for second place.

The mile relay team, with a qualifying time of 3:19.53, won the meet.

Also for OBU, Goodson won the 200 meters at 22.35, Michael Elizondo won the 1000 meters at 2:36.24; TJ Lightsey won the 600 meters at 1:22.04; and Kerry Duckworth won the long jump at 15:14.39.