Skip area navigation

Bison Post 19 Qualifying Times at OC Invitational

January 24, 2005

In their second meet of the season, OBU qualified 17 athletes in 13 events that hadn't already qualified in those events for the NAIA Indoor Championships.

For the women, Chandra Huckabay, Andrea Mount, Katie Engstrom and Kyta Ferrer won the two mile relay in a qualifying time of 9:45.64.

Kyli Bean won the 400 meters with a qualifying time of 57.89 seconds.

Keyonna Hornbuckle won the 600 meters, qualifying in 1:37.56. Melissa Mount was second at 1:42.

Kyta Ferrer won the 800 meters with a qualifying time of 2:19.25, with Huckabay finishing third at 2:29.21.

Mirriam Kaumba coasted to a win in the mile run with a qualifying time of 5:04.71. Teammate Kelsey Engstrom was second at 5:23.76. Kaumba also won the 1000 meters, qualifying for nationals with a 3:02.51. Andrea Mount was second at 3:11.94.

Freshman Sara Thurber won the 60 meter hurdles in a qualifying time of 9.13 seconds. Penny Dunaway was third at 9.62. Thurber also was second in the 200 meters at 26.92.

Katie Engstrom qualified in the 3000 meters, winning with a time of 11:15.31.

Deena Almohandis won the high jump and qualified for nationals at 5-6. She also was second in the long jump at 16-6.75.

The mile relay team of Thurber, Bean, Hornbuckle and Andrea Mount won in 4:02.02, which is a qualifying time but not a better time than OBU has already posted in the event this season.

Also for the OBU women, Meagan Wakeman was second in the pole vault at 9-6.

For the Bison Pat Brown and Lamar Baskin qualified in the 60 meter hurdles. Brown won with a time of 7.92 seconds with Baskin taking third at 8.29. Brown improved his qualifying time in the 200 meters, winning in 21.67, while TJ Lightsey qualified in second place at 21.93. Brown also won the 60 meters in 6.98 seconds.

Lightsey and Leonarde Smith both improved on their previous qualifying times in the 400 meters. Lightsey won in 48.73 with Smith in second at 49.29.

Landon Willets qualified in the 1000 meters at 2:30.09, winning that event. Willets also took second in the 3000 meters at 8:55.97, with Daniel Ellis taking third at 8:58.45.

Jeremiah Campo claimed first in the shot put with a winning heave of 50 feet, 3 inches. Campo also was third in the weight throw at 45-11.75.

Dominique Chan-Low won the triple jump at 46-11.25, a shorter qualifying distance than he already has this season.

Mitch Henry recorded 3100 points in the pentathlon. The top 16 scores in that event qualify. His score ranks second thus far nationally. He captured first place in the Friday meet.

OBU's two-mile relay team won in a non-qualifying time of 8:05.39. The mile relay team also won with a non-qualifying time of 3:25.13.

Prophet Bailey won the 600 meters in 1:25.24 with Kurt Thomas taking third at 1:28.01. Bryce Bell won the 800 meters in 1:58.22.

Dan Kingsley was second in the mile at 4:34.08.