Skip area navigation

OBU recognizes employees for Years of Service at May 15 event

May 19, 2023

OBU on Monday recognized employees for milestone years of service.

Marcia McQuerry, registrar, was honored for 40 years of service.

Three employees were honored for achieving 25 years of service. They include Dr. Jeanne Akin, professor of education; Dr. Bobby Kelly, professor of religion; and Dr. Charles Swadley, associate professor of English and Spanish.

Four employees were honored for achieving 20 years of service. They include Kevin Armstrong, network systems supervisor; Brad Humphrey, electrician; Dr. Karen Longest, professor of psychology; and Dr. Canaan Crane, professor of psychology and director of the Marriage and Family Therapy Program.

Three employees achieved 15 years of service including Anna Howle, head volleyball coach; David Shannon, chief of university police; and Helen Lee, administrative assistant to the executive director of the Milburn Center.

Employees honored for 10 years of service include Paula Gower, associate vice president for marketing and communications; Jeremy Hymel, assistant men’s and women’s soccer coach, head junior varsity coach; Matthew Miller, DBA/systems support; Donald Johnson, dispatch/switchboard operator; Kyle Rudek, accounting manager; Robert Marquardt, manager of facilities services; Scott Brady, groundskeeper; Rhonda Gardner, student accounts receivable specialist; Dr. Contessa Edgar, associate professor biology and chair of Division of Science; Dr. Yvonne Mbote, associate professor of chemistry; Dr. Kaine Ezell, associate professor of English; and Dr. Brent Newsom, assistant professor of English and chair of the Division of Language and Literature.

Employees honored for reaching five years of service include Samantha Maples, head softball coach; Jason Eaker, men’s basketball coach, instructor of physical education; Danielle Cox, director of student financial services; Joy Carl, director of international students and disability services; Laura Wellman, programmer/analyst; Eternity Vick, dispatch/switchboard operator; Dr. Laura Gramling, assistant professor of nursing; Joan Klerekoper, assistant professor of nursing; Dr. Jessica Rohr, assistant professor of English; Dr. Daniel Spillman, associate professor of history; and Dr. Lyda Murillo Wilbur, assistant professor of Spanish.