Skip area navigation

OBU Honors Nursing Graduates During Pinning Ceremony May 19

May 19, 2023

OBU honored its class of graduating nurses during the School of Nursing’s Pinning and Lamp Lighting Ceremony held Friday, May 19. The ceremony was held at Immanuel Baptist Church in Shawnee.

Dr. Stephanie Parker, chair of the OBU School of Nursing, welcomed the graduates and guests to the ceremony. Dr. Larinee Dennis, dean of business, health science, and education, led the invocation. OBU President Dr. Heath A. Thomas offered opening remarks, sharing a brief word of congratulations with the graduating nurses.

Megan Smith, MSN, RN, CNE, assistant professor of nursing for OBU, delivered the address to graduates. She teaches a variety of courses to freshmen, sophomores, and seniors, including Nutrition and Development, Pathophysiology, Care of Child and Family, and Capstone. She is also heavily involved in the simulation program and served as the Simulation Director from June 2021 to February of 2023. She earned a Master of Science in Nursing Education from OBU, a Bachelor of Science in Nursing from Bob Jones University, and is anticipated to earn a Doctorate of Education in Nursing Education Summer of 2023. Smith is a Certified Nurse Educator and is also a member of Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society for Nursing. Her clinical expertise is in pediatric acute care, and she worked at Oklahoma Children’s Hospital for several years on the pediatric surgical unit, the pediatric intensive care unit, and as a pediatric clinical nurse educator before beginning her nine-year tenure at OBU. Smith helped start the first pediatric nurse residency program at Oklahoma Children’s Hospital, which gave her a passion for nursing students and setting them up for success as they transition into professional practice after graduation.

Dr. Laura Gramling, assistant professor of nursing, discussed the significance of the ceremony. Graduating nurses then received their pins from Dr. Parker, including Jensen Diana Arnold, Sand Springs; Reagan Elizabeth Benton, Elk City; Audrey Marie Branham, Istanbul, Turkey; Jordan Elise Brown, Edmond; Tahlor Cheri Brown, Edmond; Paisley Camille Burns, Choctaw; Marielle Antoinette Buttram, Shawnee; Emma Hope Chocholaty, Colorado Springs, Colo.; Elyce Sally Marie Clark, Oklahoma City; Kristen Mere Cottle, Broken Arrow; Kaylee Hannah Doran, Joshua, Texas; Katie Hart Fowler, Norman; Brittany Ann Freeman, Newcastle; Kaitlyn Elizabeth Glasgow, Enid; Caleb Ray Griffin, Edmond, and Jessie Danielle Harris, Oklahoma City.

Additional graduates receiving their pins included Elisabeth Grace Jones, Meeker; Emily Beth Julian, Oklahoma City; Katherine Jo Kates, Melissa, Texas; Kelley Elizabeth Kirk, Corinth, Texas; Caitlin Elizabeth Lee, Sapulpa; Allison Joy Lewis, Arvada, Colo.; Abigail Paige McGehee, Sand Springs; Alyse Grace Middleton, Tulsa; Nolan F. Proctor, Owasso; Carrington Gentrel Rogers, Tulsa; Lindsey Nicole Tooley, Owasso; Paris Bria Van Dyne, Shawnee; Margaret Grace West, Bedford, Texas; Logan Forrest White, Oklahoma City, and Amanda Rose Wilkins, Frisco, Texas.

Harriet Cooper, assistant professor of nursing, delivered the charge to the graduates, and Dawn Westbrook, assistant professor of nursing, led the benediction.

Learn more about the School of Nursing at OBU.