Skip area navigation

College of Nursing Announces Outstanding Senior and Scholarship Recipients

May 13, 2020

OBU’s College of Nursing has announced the winner of its 2019-20 Outstanding Senior in the College of Nursing award. This year’s award was presented to Emily Moore. The faculty from the College surprised her with a Zoom call, with her parents joining in, to tell her the good news.

This award and awards to outstanding seniors in all Colleges and Divisions are typically presented in a special awards chapel, which was not held this year due to the University’s move to distance learning. Instead, these students received a personal touch in their individual presentations.

The outstanding senior nursing student demonstrates competence in the knowledge and skills required for beginning practice as a professional nurse. The student incorporates caring behaviors in interactions with clients and colleagues, affirms commitment to the ethical values of the Judeo-Christian beliefs, demonstrates a commitment to continuing personal and professional development grounded in a liberal arts philosophy, and assumes moral and legal responsibility for his or her own professional nursing practice.

Dr. Robbie Henson, dean of the College of Nursing, congratulated Moore and read the criteria necessary to be honored with this award.

“We think you do all of these things beautifully, Emily, and are excited you are our outstanding senior for this year,” Henson said.

“That means so much,” Moore said. “I was not expecting that at all.”

The College also recently selected its list of scholarship winners for the coming academic year. These scholarships were distributed to both undergraduate and graduate students.

Margaret Friesen received the Chris Hines Memorial Scholarship, while Katelyn Cruz received the Dr. Wilbur C. Lewis Scholarship. The Elizabeth G. Moorer Nursing Scholarship was awarded to Julia Gaylor the Ella Jones Jacobs Memorial Scholarship went to Charity Rickner.

Samuel Lewis earned the Florence E. David Scholarship and Abigail Floyd earned the Gayle Berling Memorial Scholarship. The J. and M. Kelly Nursing Scholarship went to Emma Lang and the Jack and Norma Ross Nursing Scholarship went to Nancy Green.

Tahlor Brown received the Joann Hays Clingan Nursing Scholarship and Gabriela Guzman received the Julie Ann Allen Memorial Scholarship. Additionally, Julia Lewis received the L. and W. East Scholarship in Medical Science.

Mallory Branham received the Maxwell Scholarship in Nursing. Nolan Proctor received the Mikela Adams Grider Memorial Nursing Scholarship. The O. and D. White Nursing Award went to Katy Fischer.

Kera Kottmeyer received the Peggy Galloway Donovan Nursing Scholarship and Bryce Britt received the Rackley Family Scholarship. Juliet Hale won the Vivian Putnam Beanland Memorial Scholarship, while Mackenzie Palmer (Irwin) received the Vogel Nursing Award. Dana Greeson received the Winnifred Perry Byrnes O’Bryan Scholarship.

Eight students received the Wilma R. Wood Nursing Scholarship. These students include Rebecca Beshears, Kiersten Brakhage, Molly Millard, Hannah Daniels, Maria McLin, Grace Rother, Brittany Hodges and Tess Batchelor.

Gretchen Brown received the Dr. Claudine Franks Dickey Scholarship and Cherie Brewer received the Juanita Millsap Nursing Scholarship. Aubrie-Annah Arganda received the Non-Traditional Nursing Student Scholarship.

The Nursing Scholarship was awarded to Aubrie-Annah Arganda, Kiersten Brakhage, Cherie Brewer, Julia Lewis, Molly Millard, Mariah McLin, Leann Mullendore, Olivia Parent, Tiana Phillips, Nolan Proctor and Miranda Toland.

Five graduate students in the College of Nursing received scholarships as well. Hannah Pfister earned the Nancy McStay Memorial Scholarship and Rebecca Williams earned the MSN Scholarship. Candis Watson and Jamie Herron each received the RN-MSN Scholarship, while Jenifer Corter received the RN-BSN Scholarship.

Find out more about the College of Nursing at OBU.