Skip area navigation

University Recognizes Employees for 630 Years of Service

April 26, 2018

OBU hosted its 2018 Service Awards Luncheon Thursday, April 26, on OBU’s campus in Shawnee. The annual event recognizes employees for milestone years of service, as well as retiring faculty and staff. OBU recognized 49 employees for a combined 630 years of service.

Dr. David Whitlock, president of OBU, welcomed attendees and Dr. Christopher Mathews, dean of the Warren M. Angell College of Fine Arts, led the invocation. The awards were then presented by Dr. Susan DeWoody, dean of the College of Graduate and Professional Studies; Bruce Perkins, vice president for enrollment and student life; Dr. Will Smallwood, senior vice president for advancement and university relations; and Randy Smith, executive vice president for business and administrative services.

Larry Walker, director of campus services, was honored for 40 years of service.

Those honored for 35 years of service include Bobby Cox, baseball coach and assistant professor of physical education; Tony Fitzgerald, facility services technician; Marcia McQuerry, director of academic records/ registrar; and Teri Walker, assistant registrar/ director of academic services.

David Price, computer technician II, and Dr. Glenn Sanders, professor of history, were honored for 30 years of service.

Four individuals were honored for 25 years of service, including Pam Fink, softball coach and instructor of physical education; Dr. Bret Roark, professor of psychology; Dr. Pam Robinson, dean of the College of Humanities and Social Sciences; and Richard Shannon, armed security corporal.

Dr. Brad Jett, James E. Hurley professor of biology, was honored for 20 years of service.

Lauri Fluke, assistant vice president for finance and administrative services, and Brad Humphrey, electrician, were both honored for 15 years of service.

Thirteen individuals were honored for 10 years of service, including Stephannie Davis, serials/government documents assistant; Dr. Vickie Ellis, professor of communication; Anna Howle, volleyball coach and instructor of physical education and HHP; Helen Lee, administrative assistant to the executive director of the Milburn Center; Dr. Louima Lilite, associate professor of music; Melinda Newpher, student loan and collection manager; Amy Petty, contributions clerk / development; Radonna Roark, assistant professor of French; David Shannon, chief of University police; Debbie Stephens, student financial services counselor; Kenny Tisho, groundskeeper I; Michael White, women’s soccer coach and instructor of physical education; and Dr. Tony Yates, associate professor of science.

Honorees for five years of service include Casi Bays, women’s basketball coach and instructor of physical education; Scott Brady, groundskeeper I; Lane Castleberry, web communications and social media coordinator; Dawn Chester, secretary for the Division of Teacher Education; Dr. Lakshmi Chockalingam, assistant professor of chemistry; Andrew Dame, reserve police officer/ armed security corporal; Dr. Paul Donnelly, assistant professor of sociology; Becky Freeman, bursar assistant; Rhonda Gardner, accounts receivable specialist; Paula Gower, associate vice president for marketing and communications; Jeremy Hymel, assistant men’s and women’s soccer coach; Don Johnson, dispatch/ switchboard operator; Dr. Galen Jones, assistant professor of church planting; Robert Marquardt, manager of facility services; Matthew Miller, database administrator/ systems support; Lindsey Myers, assistant women’s basketball coach; Paul Roberts, dean of library services; Kyle Rudek, accounting manager; Dr. Cherith Tucker, assistant professor of mathematics; Dr. Jonathan Wilson, assistant professor of psychology; Dr. Donna Young, assistant professor of English; and Anthony Yousey, men’s soccer coach and instructor of physical education.