Skip area navigation

OBU’s Annual Hanging of the Green Coming Dec. 2

November 30, 2017

OBU will present its 80th annual Hanging of the Green Christmas program Saturday, Dec. 2, at 7:30 p.m. in Raley Chapel’s Potter Auditorium. The community is invited to attend the celebration, titled, “Peace on Earth.”

The first Hanging of the Green ceremony at OBU was held in WMU Memorial Hall. After the singing of carols, representatives from all dormitories lit candles of good will and carried the light to their own houses. The custom of Hanging of the Green has continued, though it moved in 1945 to the newly completed Brittain Hall Library, in 1957 to the University Auditorium, and in 1961 to Raley Chapel.

The performers for this year’s Hanging of the Green include the Bison Glee Club, directed by Dr. Christopher Mathews, dean of the Warren M. Angell college of fine arts; University Chorale, directed by Dr. Brent Ballweg, Burton H. Patterson professor of music and director of choral activities; OBU/Shawnee Community Orchestra, conducted by Dr. Jim Hansford, retired Burton H. Patterson professor of music and director of bands emeritus; the Bisonette Glee Club, directed by Dr. James Vernon, professor of music; True Voice, directed by Ballweg; and the Shawnee Honor Choir, directed by Conchita Hansford, retired director of the music preparatory department and assistant professor of music.

Soloists will include Rebecca Ballinger, assistant professor of voice, soprano; Julie Welch, junior, soprano; Justin Pierce, assistant professor in instrumental music, saxophone; and Dr. Ben Shute, assistant professor of music and director of the preparatory department, violin.

The OBU/Shawnee Community Orchestra will begin the night’s performances with “Christmas Fantasy for Orchestra,” followed by a performance of “O, Come All Ye Faithful” joined by all of the performing choirs.

OBU President Dr. David Whitlock will welcome those in attendance, and then a group of outstanding seniors, nominated and voted upon by OBU faculty, will be introduced and recognized.

The honorees include Zoya Timoshenko, Delta Junction, Alaska, communication arts with a minor in business technology; Ezra Pratt, Denver, Colorado, history; Rebecca Lee, Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, family and community service; Jonathan Ivers, Denison, Texas, Bible; Megan McCoy, Walter, Oklahoma, family and community service; Caleb Schantz, Yukon, Oklahoma, theatre major with a music minor; Marsha Davidson, Deerfield, New Hampshire, nursing; Braden East, Bartlesville, Oklahoma, communication studies; Jillian Pullen, Oklahoma City, vocal music education; and Colton Seamans, Reedsburg, Wisconsin, vocal music.

Additional honorees include Erica Reed, Katy, Texas, elementary education; Emmanuel “Manny” Cole, Oklahoma City, accounting; Amy Lashar, Tulsa, Oklahoma, early childhood education; Connor Polson, Tuttle, Oklahoma, biology; Katrina Nguyen, Shawnee, Oklahoma, nursing; Samuel Melton, Oklahoma City, music education; Rachel Gilmore, Inola, Oklahoma, psychology: pre-counseling; Cade Chlouber, Shawnee, Bible; Madison Crow, Sand Springs, Oklahoma, graphic design; and Bailey Byers, Edmond, Oklahoma, Christian ministry.

Following their introduction, the hanging of the green will commence, with a congregational singing of “Joy to the World.” The rest of the night will be filled with various performances from OBU’s many choirs and musical ensembles.