Skip area navigation

College of Nursing Holds Commissioning Ceremony for Class of 2017

August 21, 2015

The ceremony welcomes and initiates the new class of nursing students, which will graduate in 2017, and emphasizes patient-centered care. It also recognizes the nurse's responsibility to put the interests of patients first, and it affirms that this obligation begins on the first day of nursing school and continues throughout one's nursing career. The ceremony also promotes a culture of respect, dignity and compassion in both patients and health care professionals. Dr. Lepaine McHenry, dean of the OBU College of Nursing, led the class of 2017 in the traditional pledge for OBU nursing students.

A total of 35 students from the College of Nursing class of 2017 participated in the ceremony, including Lauren Brown, Bridget Burton, Hannah Christian, Rachel Detweiler, Miranda Dozier, Alizabeth Espenschied, Ashley Eubanks, Hannah Evans, Christine Ferguson, Bailey Garrett, Christin Garvey, Kyra Gilbert, Akeea Gilmore, Rebekah Gonzalez, Cory Grant, Kirsty Green, Kelsey Hays, Jennifer Holdridge, Katrina Horner, Alyssa Jackson, Kristi Neighbors, Alexandra Lanphear, Maci Lewis, Catherine Lingo, Kierra Mattingly, Jennifer McMartin, Ciera Miller, Morgan Minx, Gracelyn Perkins, Samantha Reiss, Brittney Russel, Tucker Schultz, Casey Smith, Skyla Underwood and Jade Young.

The new nursing class will be among the first students to occupy Jane E. and Nick K. Stavros Hall, the new state-of-the-art home for the OBU College of Nursing, which will open for classes in the spring semester. The building is located on the southwest corner of the intersection of MacArthur Street and Kickapoo Avenue. The two story 31,000 square foot nursing education facility will contain five classrooms, a 107 seat lecture hall, as well as a state-of-the-art computer lab. The facility will also feature six state-of-the-art, high-tech skills simulation labs, totaling 24 beds.