Skip area navigation

OBU Recognizes 706 Years of Service

April 10, 2015

Attendees of the banquet were welcomed by Randy Smith, executive vice president for business and administrative services. Lauri Fluke, assistant vice president for finance and administrative services, led the evening's invocation. A video tribute to the honorees, produced by Justin Hull, an audio-visual student worker, was shown to the audience in recognition of the many years of hard work each of the faculty and staff members has given to the university. Smith then presented the awards alongside Sharon Becerra, administrative assistant of the business office.

Two retiring personnel were recognized. Dr. Robbie Mullins, the Lawrence Peitz Chair of Business and professor of business, is retiring with 31 years of service. Doug Tolin, men's basketball coach and assistant professor of kinesiology and leisure studies, is retiring with 15 years of service.

Three individuals were honored for their 35 years of service: Dr. Debbie Bosch, dean of the James E. Hurley College of Science and Mathematics; Dr. Roger Flint, professor of accounting; and Steve Hicks, professor of art.

Dr. Carol Humphrey, professor of history, was recognized for 30 years of service.

Those honored for 25 years of service included Dr. Kaylene Barbe, professor of communication studies; Dr. Lee Goen, Paul Dickinson associate professor business; Conchita Hansford, director of music preparatory department and assistant professor of music; Dr. Lucrecia Litherland, professor of language; Dr. Tony Litherland, professor of political science; Dr. Linda McElroy, professor of kinesiology and leisure studies and cheerleading coach; Monica Mullins, director of student success; Bill Pope, staff photographer; and Dr. Jim Vernon, professor of music.

Five individuals were honored for 20 years of service: Gary Bohannon, building trades supervisor; Debi Brittain, secretary in the student services department; Nola Dobyns, secretary in the development department; Tina Nickerson, secretary of the College of Humanities and Social Sciences; and Randy Smith, executive vice president for business and administrative services.

Eight individuals were honored for 15 years of service: Valerie Fowler, dispatch/switchboard supervisor; Lori Hagans, executive director of the OBU Alumni Association; Dr. Michael Jordan, associate professor of chemistry; Dr. John McWilliams, associate professor of natural science; Carrie Myles, executive director of the Milburn Center and director of academic advising; Dr. Randy Ridenour, associate professor of philosophy; Doug Tolin, men's basketball coach and assistant professor of kinesiology and leisure studies; and Dr. Craig Walker, Wheeler Professor of Economics.

Four individuals were honored for 10 years of service: Holly Easttom, assistant professor of journalism; Dr. Lee Hinson, professor of church music and coordinator of the church music department; Dr. Nathan Malmberg, associate professor of chemistry; and Dr. Ben Myers, Crouch-Mathis professor of literature.

Those honored for five years of service included Brett Askin, reserve police officer and security corporal; Dr. Brent Ballweg, Burton H. Patterson professor of music and director of choral activities; Nancy Deichman, executive secretary to the president; Dr. Krista Hands, associate professor of mathematics; Mike Johnson, director of human resources; Dr. Peter Purin, assistant professor of music theory; Will Smallwood, vice president for university advancement; Josh Trimble, director of development; Nichole Turnage, assistant professor of computer science; Jana VanderTook, administrative assistant to the provost and executive vice president for campus life; and Dawn Westbrook, assistant professor of nursing.