Skip area navigation

OBU Recognizes 506 Years of Service

April 8, 2014

Pictured, front row, left to right: Jeffery Wiseman, Terry Banta, Lyn Hughey, Lisa Cook, Debbie Alt, and Debbie Jack. Middle row, left to right: Janice Powell, Dr. Mark McClellan, Kristie Cobb, Rachel Hawkins, Dr. Sherri Raney, Dr. Karen Youmans, Dr. Sidney Watson, Donna Barton, Billie Tanner, Chasity Harjo, Corey Fuller, and Dr. Scott Pace. Pictured, back row, left to right: Dr. Kevin Hall, Dr. John Powell, Dr. Stan Norman, Dr. John Farris, Dr. David Whitlock, Ray Fink, Gerry Nixon, Gary Nickerson, Dr. Robert Cloyde, Alan Dodgion, and Dr. Alan Bandy.

Randy Smith, executive vice president for business and administrative services, welcomed attendees. Steven Floyd, OBU's controller, led the invocation. The audience was treated to a video tribute to honorees, produced by Britton Buss, audio / visual technical director. The awards were then presented by Dr. David Whitlock, OBU president; Dr. Jim Vernon, professor of music; and Mike Johnson, director of human resources.

Two retiring personnel were recognized. Cynthia Hicks, supervisor of media services, is retiring with 29 years of service. Dr. John Nichols, associate professor of mathematics, is retiring with 17 years of service.

Alan Dodgion, plumber, was recognized for 35 years of service.

Dr. Robbie Mullins, the Lawrence Peitz Chair of Business and professor of business, was honored for 30 years of service.

Three individuals were honored to 25 years of service: Gary Nickerson, assistant vice president for business affairs, information systems and services; Mary Price, circulation supervisor; and Dr. Dale Utt, associate professor of biology.

Those honored for 20 years of service included Ray Fink, sports information director; Dr. Kevin Hall, Ida Elizabeth and J.W. Hollums Chair of Bible and professor of biblical and theological studies; and Dr. Sherri Raney, professor of history and political science.

Four individuals were honored for 15 years of service: Donna Barton, assistant director of student financial services; Dr. Kristen Stauffer Todd, professor of music history; Dr. Sidney Watson, professor of English; and Dr. Karen Youmans, professor of English.

Eleven individuals were honored for 10 years of service: Debbie Alt, alumni secretary; Terry Banta, groundskeeper; Dr. Brian Camp, professor of family science; Dr. John Farris, Harris chair of teacher education, director of teacher education, and associate professor of education; Lyn Hughey, athletics secretary; Zach Johnson, assistant coach for track and cross country; Nathan Kraft, programmer / analyst; Janice Powell, admissions office administrator; Dr. John Powell, professor of history; Kyle Tolin, assistant men's basketball coach / head men's JV basketball coach; and Jason Young, HVAC Technician I.

Honorees for five years of service include Dr. Alan Bandy, Rowena R. Strickland professor in New Testament and assistant professor of new testament; Dr. Robert Cloyde, senior director of development; Kristie Cobb, technical services assistant; Odus Compton, director of student ministry; Lisa Cook, student financial services counselor; Corey Fuller, assistant professor of graphic design; Dr. Casey Gerber, assistant professor of music education; Chasity Harjo, prospect information coordinator; Rachel Hawkins, special collections librarian; Debbie Jack, Recreation and Wellness Center staff assistant; Chad Kiker, lead carpenter; Dr. Mark McClellan, dean of the Herschel H. Hobbs College of Theology and Ministry and professor of theology and missions; Gerry Nixon, associate professor of accounting; Dr. Stan Norman, provost and executive vice president for campus life and professor of theology; Dr. Scott Pace, Reverend A.E. and Dora Johnson Hughes chair of Christian ministry and assistant professor of applied ministry; Billie Tanner, payroll coordinator; Dr. David Whitlock, president; and Jeffery Wiseman, reserve police officer / armed security sergeant.