Skip area navigation

Board Approves Graduate School Expansion, Faculty Promotions

May 17, 2013

OBU president David W. Whitlock (left) and chair of OBU's Board of Trustees David Lawrence convene during their spring meeting on the Shawnee campus May 17.

Trustees approved the expansion of the OBU Graduate School to encompass certification, degree completion, professional studies, and professional undergraduate, graduate and post-graduate programs. The name of the Graduate School will be changed to the OBU College of Graduate and Professional Studies.

"Expanding the current graduate school will allow us a better way to organize, develop, administer and market these unique degree programs," OBU President David W. Whitlock said.

The president and Executive Committee of the Board of Trustees were authorized to contract with an online education services provider to facilitate the development of online education programming at OBU.

Trustees adopted a resolution to change the University's fiscal year from the current fiscal year structure, which runs August 1 to July 31, to a new fiscal year running June 1 toMay 31. The change would go into effect for the 2014-15 fiscal year.

"This is one of the ways we are working to become more efficient and more effective," said Randy Smith, executive vice president for business and administrative services.

Trustees approved the president to negotiate a contract with a food service provider as a result of the request for proposals process recently completed. An announcement will be made once a final contract is signed.

The board ratified promotions for four faculty members. Dr. Canaan Crane was promoted from assistant professor of psychology to associate professor of psychology. Dr. Roger Flint was promoted from associate professor of accounting to professor of accounting. Dr. Lee Hinson was promoted from associate professor of music to professor of music. Dr. Sherri Raney was promoted from associate professor of history and political science to professor of history and political science.

Board members approved contracts for four new faculty members. New faculty include Rebecca Anne Koerselman, assistant professor of history; Jonathan Burton Wilson, assistant professor of marriage and family therapy; Anthony Yousey, instructor of kinesiology and leisure services and head men's soccer coach; Tanner Joshua Auch, assistant professor of mathematics; and Cherith A. Tucker, assistant professor of mathematics.

The rank of professor emeritus for two retired professors was approved for Dr. Cindy Meyer Hanchey, retired associate professor of computer science, and Dr. Dale Hanchey, retired associate professor of computer science.

Former chairman of the Board of Trustees, Dr. Reagan Bradford, was approved to serve as the Board Advisor.

David Lawrence, chair of OBU's 31-member Board of Trustees, moderated the board's plenary session. Lawrence is pastor of Emmanuel Baptist Church in Weatherford, Okla.