Skip area navigation

Hobbs College Presents Awards, Scholarships

June 1, 2012

Dr. Mark McClellan, dean of the Hobbs College, presented the awards and scholarships, assisted during the April ceremony by Hobbs College faculty members.

During the May 2 Awards Convocation, McClellan recognized three outstanding seniors in Christian service studies. Taylor Breen, a religion: Bible major from Phoenix, Ariz., received the Outstanding Senior in Religion Award, presented to the student who has demonstrated exceptional ability in the fields of theology, Christian history and biblical studies. Breen graduated with the scholastic designation summa cum laude.

OBU senior Taylor Breen receives the Outstanding Senior in Religion Award for OBU's Hobbs College of Theology and Ministry from Dr. Mark McClellan.

Jeremiah Custar, an applied ministry: youth emphasis major from Ardmore, Okla., received the Outstanding Senior in Applied Ministry Award, given to the student who has demonstrated exceptional ability in the field of applied ministry. Eric Genheimer, a philosophy major from Mustang, Okla., received the Outstanding Senior in Philosophy Award, given to the student who has demonstrated exceptional ability in the field of philosophy. He graduated with the designation magna cum laude.

OBU senior Jeremiah Custar is named an outstanding senior in OBU's Hobbs College by Dr. Mark McClellan.

Also during Awards Convocation, Kasey Chapman, a junior from Elmore City, Okla., received the Gaskin Baptist History Award, given annually to encourage research in the history of Baptist life and thought. The award is made possible through a fund established by Dr. J.M. Gaskin, pastor, educator, historian and friend of the University. The winning research papers submitted for the award are included in the Baptist Historical Collection housed at OBU.

During the April 23 awards ceremony, outstanding seniors were recognized for various areas of study. They included Breen, for biblical studies; Daniel Ray, a religion: biblical languages major from Chickasha, Okla., for Hebrew; Ellen Richard, a religion: biblical languages major from Perkins, Okla., for Greek; Dalton Funkhouser, a religion: biblical languages major from Hobart, Okla., for theology; and Leslie Fort, a religion: Bible major from College Station, Texas, for Christian history.

Other outstanding seniors in the Hobbs College included Jeremy Lalli, an applied ministry: pastoral ministry major from Pittsburg, Okla., for pastoral ministry; Andrew Cannon, an applied ministry: youth ministry major from Elgin, Okla., for youth ministry; Jessica Lowery, an applied ministry: children's ministry major from Stroud, Okla., for education ministry; Katie Denny, an applied ministry: cross-cultural ministry major from Victoria, Texas, for missions; Casie Trotter, a philosophy and psychology major from Owasso, Okla., for philosophy; and Beth Jones, an applied ministry: children's ministry major from Comanche, Okla., for children's ministry.

McClellan also announced the recipients of nearly two dozen scholarships during the awards ceremony. Jacob Steward, a sophomore from Oklahoma City, received the Haggard Religious Education Scholarship, given to a rising upper-class student who is a religious education, youth or children's ministry major. Aaron Fullbright, a sophomore from Sallisaw, Okla., received the Warren Forbes Yarborough Scholarship and the Hough Memorial Scholarship, both given to a student entering religious education, youth or children's ministry. Alma Rivero, a sophomore from Hobart, received the Buell Hill Missions Scholarship, given to an upper-class student missions volunteer.

The James S. Timberlake Scholarship, for rising upper-class students who have excelled in biblical and theological studies, was given to David Billings, a sophomore from Claremore, Okla., and Isaac Queen, a junior from Blanchard, Okla. The Jack and Betty Moore Scholarship, for non-traditional majors in the Hobbs College who are preparing for church staff ministry other than pastoral or music ministry, was presented to Barbara Day, a junior from Tecumseh, Okla., and Robbie Bernhardt, a junior from Tulsa, Okla.

Chase Simonson, a freshman from Edmond, Okla., received the Alma Baggett Religious Vocation Scholarship, given to a religious or applied ministry major. Erin Black, a junior from Cassville, Mo., received the Ruth C. Clark Memorial Scholarship, given to a student who is a child of missionaries planning a career in foreign missions. Nick Pinkerton, a junior from Oklahoma City, received the Aaron and Hilda Hancock Scholarship, given to a Native American student preparing for ministry among Native Americans. Taylor McDannel, a sophomore from Denver, Colo., received the Glen E. and Erma J. Braswell Scholarship, given to a church vocation student from Colorado.

The Orie and Edna Booze Religious Vocations Scholarship, for students planning to enter a church-related vocation, was given to Zack Potts, a junior from Grove, Okla.; Brayden Buss, a freshman from Okmulgee, Okla.; Josh Franzoni, a junior from Choctaw, Okla.; and Kira Jacobson, a sophomore from Waurika, Okla. The Joe L. Ingram Scholarship is for upper-class students preparing for the pastoral ministry who have demonstrated a strong commitment to the ministry and outstanding leadership skills. The Ingram Scholarship was presented to Kasey Chapman; Nathan Howard, a junior from Waurika; and Tony Lawson, a sophomore from Weleetka, Okla.

Jesse Ingram, a sophomore from Depew, Okla., received the Rowena Strickland Scholarship, given to worthy religious students with interest in biblical studies. The Dr. Gregory D. Pritchard Scholarship, for an outstanding philosophy student, was presented to Joshua Caudill, a sophomore from Winfield, Kan., and Perry Tripp, a sophomore from Shawnee. Caudill also received the Guy L. Carr Memorial Scholarship, half which is given to a religion major and half which is given to a music major. Tripp also received the James J. Dooley Scholarship, given to a student preparing for ministry.

The Ross and Pauline Hughes Scholarship in Home Missions, for a student planning to be a missionary in North America, was presented to Jacob Goff, a sophomore from Blanchard, Okla.; Tim Livingston, a sophomore from Claremore; and Karlie Tipton, a freshman from Tulsa. The Bob and Nelle Agee Leadership Scholarship is given to students demonstrating overall campus leadership in academic studies, Student Government Association and religious life activities and programs. The Agee Leadership Scholarship was presented to Kimberly Powell, a sophomore from Oklahoma City, and Cody Moser, a freshman from Noble, Okla. Elizabeth Moore, a sophomore from Gering, Neb., received the Bob and Nelle Agee International Study/Missions Scholarship, for students who have participated in a university-approved overseas study program or missions program.

Ellen Richard received the Dr. James Samuel Timberlake Memorial Prize in Greek, presented to an OBU student who has distinguished himself or herself in the study of Greek, as determined by the Greek faculty. The prize was established by Kathryne Mackenzie Suson in honor of the late Dr. Timberlake, long-time OBU professor of Greek. Raleigh White, a senior from Shawnee, received the Bob and Patsy Evans Scholarship, given to an OBU Christian vocations student.