Skip area navigation

SGA Hosts Hyde Park Day, Ellis Elected President

February 18, 2016

After the presentation of speeches, students were encouraged to vote for their preferred candidates online by following a link sent through OBU email.

The incumbent Student Government Association president, Neal Ellis, a rising senior from Midlothian, Texas, won his second bid for the office. Other candidates included Nick Schuttinger, a sophomore from Columbus, Ohio, and Jimmy Manyanga, a freshman from Pauls Valley, Okla.

Kirsten Thompson, a rising senior from Granbury, Texas, ran uncontested for SGA vice president of internal affairs. Erin Tresch, a sophomore from Tulsa, Okla., was elected SGA vice president of external affairs. Other candidates for that office included Travis Alexander, a junior from Shawnee, Okla., and Austin Manger, a sophomore from Oklahoma City.

Senior senators include Lauren Smith, Greenwood, Ark.; Tristen Rizzo, Owasso, Okla.; and Caitlyn Yount, Shawnee. Election for the third senior senate seat was a tie between Yount and Colin Metcalf, from Jenks, Okla., who voluntarily stepped out of the race to run for a senator-at-large position in the fall.

Junior senators include Jordan Bowles, Edmond, Okla.; Cale Jackson, Newalla, Okla.; and Kim Powell, Oklahoma City. Sophomore senators include Johanna Kleinsasser, Lee's Summit, Mo.; Morgan Marshall, Fort Collins, Colo.; and Cody Moser, Noble, Okla.

Students elected to class offices included: Kallie Engle, senior class president, from Durant, Okla.; Mariah Miller, senior class vice president, from Enid, Okla.; Katie Tyler, junior class president, from Bedford, Texas; Elizabeth Norrie, junior class vice president, from Enid, Okla.; Rebecca Dorsch, sophomore class president, from Independence, Mo.; and Megan Stein, sophomore class vice president, from Broken Arrow, Okla.

Kirsten Thompson Erin Tresch

Freshmen class elections for president and vice president are conducted in the fall semester after incoming students have an opportunity to familiarize themselves with the campus community.

Between candidate speeches presented during the chapel service, Ellis presented OBU's "Seven Who Care" awards to seven faculty and staff members honored for their contributions to the campus community. The Seven Who Care Award is given to faculty and staff members based upon nominations by students, faculty and staff.

This year's Seven Who Care winners include: Dr. Glenn Sanders, professor of history; Dorinda Cullum, secretary to the dean of science and mathematics; Dr. Dan Reeder, Albert J. Geiger professor of finance; Dr. Nicole Warehime, assistant professor of sociology; Dr. Tony Yates, assistant professor of science; Monica Mullins, director of Student Success; and Brandon Skaggs, dean of students.

Hyde Park Day was instituted at the university in 1958 after Dr. John W. Raley, then OBU President, visited Hyde Park in London, England. At "Speakers' Corner" in Hyde Park anyone may set up a soap box and lecture all those in earshot on any topic. Spectators then are allowed to question the speaker. When the event started at OBU, based on the idea of free oratory, SGA candidates would gather in the Quadrangle on campus, set up "political booths" and vie for students' votes.