Skip area navigation

Faculty and Staff Honored as 'Seven Who Care'

April 6, 2011

Seven OBU faculty and staff members were honored by OBU students Wednesday, April 6, for their contributions to the campus community. The honorees received the Seven Who Care Award during the university's Hyde Park chapel service in Raley Chapel.

The Seven Who Care Award is given by the OBU Student Government Association to honor the hard work and dedication that our university's faculty and staff exhibit every day. The recipients are selected based upon nominations by students, faculty and staff.

Dr. Jeanne Akin Dr. Andrew Armond Debi Brittain

The 2011 Seven Who Care recipients include Dr. Jeanne Akin, professor of teacher education; Dr. Andrew Armond, assistant professor of English; Debi Brittain, secretary of student services; Bobby Canty, dean of students; Dr. Scott Pace, Jewell and Joe L. Huitt assistant professor of applied ministry; David Price, microcomputer technician; and Dr. Shawna York, associate professor of chemistry.

Bobby Canty Dr. Scott Pace

"The awards recognize staff who exemplify selflessness, devotion to their positions or going above and beyond the call of duty," said Chuck Porter, a junior from Owasso, Okla., who serves as SGA vice president.

David Price Dr. Shawna York

The awards were presented by SGA President Brandon Dickinson, a senior from Enid, Okla.