Skip area navigation

OBU Faculty, Students Participate in Chemical Society Meeting

December 17, 2008

Three Oklahoma Baptist University faculty and 15 OBU students participated in the 64th Southwest Regional Meeting of the American Chemical Society Oct. 1-4 at the Peabody Hotel in Little Rock, Ark.

OBU faculty Dr. Shawna York, associate professor of chemistry, Dr. Michael Jordan, assistant professor of chemistry, and Dr. Nathan Malmberg, assistant professor of chemistry, presented a lecture titled "An Integrated Approach to Improving Communication Skills throughout the Undergraduate Curriculum."

Also at the meeting, OBU seniors Courtney Seigler, from Fayetteville, Ark., and Joya Johnson, from Bartlesville, Okla., presented a poster titled "Spectroscopic Investigation of Aspirin and Caffeine Interactions with RNA."

The American Chemical Society (ACS) is a congressionally chartered independent membership organization which represents professionals at all degree levels and in all fields of chemistry and sciences that involve chemistry. With more than 160,000 members, the ACS is the world's largest scientific society and one of the world's leading sources of authoritative scientific information.