Skip area navigation

OBU Sweeps SAC Track Meet

April 19, 2008

OBU coach Ford Mastin was named SAC Coach of the Year for both the men's and women's programs.

Jonathan Hilton of OBU was the high-point winner for the men, while Latanya Nation of Wayland Baptist won the honor on the women's side. Hilton's effort was highlighted by winning the high jump at six feet and the javelin with a throw of 51.28 meters. Nation's day included win in the 100 meter hurdles at 14.91 seconds and the long jump with a qualifying distance of 5.64 meters. She also qualified in second in the triple jump at 11.43 meters. Nation won the discus throw at 41.26 meters.

The OBU men finished with 283 points, besting Wayland Baptist at 127, Oklahoma Christian at 84, Southern Nazarene at 59, St. Gregory's at 21 and Lubbock Christian with six.

The Lady Bison finished with 237 points, followed by WBU at 205, Oklahoma Christian with 80, Southern Nazarene with 50 and St. Gregory's with eight.

Forty-six qualifying marks were reached by the teams at the meet, with the men's 1500 meter run and men's 400 hurdles being the most successful events at four qualifiers each.

In the men's 400 hurdles, Ross Harlan led for Bison qualifiers in first place at 52.16, followed by Tracy Drew at 52.28, LaMar Baskin at 52.91 and Adam Betterton at 53.13.

Oklahoma Christian's Jordan Powell won the 1500 meters in 3:52.32, followed by OBU's Justin Duncan at 3:52.73, Kirby Dunn of Wayland Baptist at 3:53.37 and Justin Stroup of OBU at 3:54.52.

Baskin won the 100 meters in a qualifying time of 10.6 seconds, followed by teammate Dominique Matthews in 10.7. Matthews won the 200 meters in a qualifying 21.49 seconds with OBU's Ethan Mignard also qualifying in second at 21.74.

Baskin also won the 110 hurdles with a qualifying mark of 14.3 seconds, followed by qualifier Chris Plank of Oklahoma Christian at 14.8.

St. Gregory's teammates Joe Hughes and William McCaskill had 1-2 qualifying times in the 400 at 47.02 and 47.49, while OBU's T.J. Lightsey qualified from third at 48.27.

OBU swept the relays and qualified in all three. The Bison won the 4x100 at 41.27, the 4x400 at 3:13.74 and the 4x800 at 7:37.42.

Adam Ergenbright of Southern Nazarene won the pole vault in a qualifying leap of 16-3, while OBU's Seth Brown was second and qualified at 15-11.

Jeff Coleman of WBU and John Armstrong of OBU were 1-2 in the hammer with qualifying heaves of 51.77 meters and 51.64 meters.

Durrell Williams of OBU won the 800 meters in 1:54.74, while Lance Goodwin won the SAC title in the 5000 meters at 15:24.51.

Dominic Palmer of WBU won the long jump in 6.64 meters. OBU's Cordell Weathersbee won the triple jump in 13.07 meters.

Armstrong of OBU won the shot put in 13.62 meters, while WBU's Coleman won the discus at 40.64 meters.

The 200, 400 and 800 meters were the fastest for the championships and each sent three runners to the national meet with OBU's Marissa Moseley winning two of those.

Moseley won the 200 in 23.30 seconds, followed by Kimberly Smith of WBU in 23.80 and Aletha Hubbard of OBU in third at 24.71. Moseley also won the 400, leading a top-three sweep for the Lady Bison in 53.21 Sherene Pinnock was second at 53.63 and Sarah Patterson was third at 57.20.

In the 800, WBU's Purity Biwott won in 2:12.96, followed by SGU's Brittany Montgomery at 2:14.14 and WBU's Erin Britton at 2:14.94.

WBU's Smith won the 100 meters in a qualifying 11.71 seconds.

Pinnock of OBU captured the 400 hurdles in a qualifying time of 59.18 seconds, while teammate Montouya Moore also met the qualifying standard in second at 1:03.82.

Caroline Karunde of WBU won the 5000 meters in a qualifying 17:59.42.

The Lady Bison and Wayland Baptist went 1-2 in both the 4x100 and 4x400 relays with qualifying marks for each. OBU's won the 4x100 in 47.20 with WBU at 47.70. In the 4x400, it was OBU at 3:42.41 and WBU at 3:54.02.

Breanna Shippy of OBU qualified and won the pole vault, clearing 11-5.75, while WBU's Caroline Oladipo won the triple jump with a qualifying mark of 11.76 meters.

OBU's Olivia Boise won the hammer throw with a qualifying heave of 49.3 meters.

Wayland Baptist won the 4x800 in 9:39.43.

Biwott won the 1500 meters for WBU in 4:48.15.

Oklahoma Christian's Charlotte Heron won the high jump at 1.62 meters.

OBU's Kimberly Maley claimed the shot put in 11.96 meters while Erin Rawlins of OC claimed the javelin with a throw of 34.3 meters.