Skip area navigation

OBU Strong in Outdoor Opener

March 29, 2008

The Bison won 20 events and qualified for the national outdoor meet in 11 events. Two other athletes made the 'B' standard time for qualifying.

The women's 4x100 relay team of Marissa Mosely, Aletha Hubbard, Sarah Patterson and Sherene Pinnock won in a qualifying time of 47.51 seconds. That foursome also won the 4x400 in a qualifying time of 3:58.05.

Pinnock also qualified in the 400 meters, winning her race in 1:00.15. Moseley won the 200 meters with a qualifying time of 24.62 seconds and finished second in the 400 with a qualifying mark of 55.94 seconds.

Nicole Cummins qualified in the triple jump with a bound of 11.51 meters to qualify for nationals.

Kirsten Morrow was a 'B' qualifier in the 1500 meters in 5:00.14, finishing second.

The Lady Bison 4x800 relay team of Yesenia Avila, Kirsten Morrow, Shayna Legg and Emily Haynes was first in 9:56.58.

Brianna Shippey won two events, taking the pole vault at 10-6.25 and the long jump in 5.23 meters. Olivia Boisse won the hammer throw with a heave of 138-9.

The men's 4x100 saw the team of T.J. Lightsey, BJ Olabusomi, Lamar Baskin and Dominique Matthews win in a qualifying time of 41.46 seconds.

Derek Nettles, Ethan Mignard, Adam Betterton and Matthews won the 4x400 relay with a qualifying time of 3:16.03.

Baskin qualified in the 110 hurdles with a win and a 14.83 time.

Seth Brown met the provisional standard in the pole vault, finishing fourth in 15-3.

The men's 4x800 relay team of Prophet Bailey, A.J. Carter, Durrell Williams and Justin Stroup won in 7:53.16.

Also collecting event wins for the Bison were Brock Stoltzfus in the in 3000 steeplechase in 9:59.57; John Armstrong in the hammer throw at 130-4; and Williams in the 800 at 1:55.47.

OBU's Ross Harlan, running unattached, won the 400 meter hurdles in 53.64 seconds.

The OBU squads return to action at the Texas Relays April 2-5.