Skip area navigation

OBU Hits 14 Qualifying Marks at OC Meet

February 5, 2005

The Bison two-mile relay team qualified with a winning time of 7:53.30 and the mile relay won with a national qualifying time of 3:20.60.

Pat Brown won the 60 meter hurdles in 8.14 seconds, which is a qualifying mark. Lamar Baskin was second in the event at 8.67. While Baskin's time was not a qualifying time, he has already qualified for the national meet in that event.

Brown also qualified in the 400 meters in 48.82 seconds, winning that event as well. Leonarde Smith was third in 50.15.

TJ Lightsey won the 400 meters in a qualifying time of 1:20.90. Clint Goodson was second at 1:24.77 and Michael Elizondo was third in 1:25.56.

Also for the men, Drew Van Zant won the 1000 meters in 2:41.17. Theron Stoltzfus was second in the mile run at 4:33.11 with David Matushak in third at 4:34.11. Chris Chandler was second in the 800 meters at 2:00.87. Smith was second in the 200 meters at 22.55.

For the Lady Bison, Deena Almohandis and Michelle Carpenter took first and second in the high jump, both clearing the national qualifying height of 5-4.25. Almohandis was second in the long jump at 16-7.

Mai Fukada qualified in the triple jump, winning with a leap of 36-10.

Keyonna Hornbucke won in the 400 meters with a qualifying mark of 57.74 seconds. Hornbuckle also qualified in the 200 meters at 26.07 seconds, finishing second.

Kyta Ferrer, Melissa Mount, Kelsey Engstrom and Melissa Thorman went 1-2-3-4 in the 600 meters with Ferrer (1:35.41) and Mount (1:38.28) both qualifying for nationals.

Kyli Bean's 2:19.78 was a winning and qualifying time in the 800 meters, while Chandra Huckabay came in second at 2:24.26.

The women's mile relay team also qualified in 3:56.57.

Also for the OBU women, Sara Thurber won the pentathlon with 2749 points. The top 16 pentathlon scores advance to nationals. Thurber's score ranks sixth. Thurber also won the 60 meter hurdles in 9.64 seconds.

Becka Brock won the 5000 meters in 18:39.61, with Sarah Hale in third at 20:24.31.

Kelsey Engstrom won the mile run at 5:18.85.

Meagan Wakeman was second in the pole vault, clearing 10 feet.