Skip area navigation

OBU’s Kaumba, Ellis Top Division I Rivals

September 5, 2004

Kaumba, the defending national NAIA champion, took first, out-legging Oklahoma State's Mary Davies by eight seconds.

As a team, the Lady Bison finished third in the three-team event. Oklahoma State won with 20 points, followed by Tulsa at 50 and OBU at 63.

Bekah Brock was second for OBU, placing 15th overall in 12:19, followed by Kyta Ferrer in 17th at 12:31, Kelsey Engstrom in 20th at 12:44 and Katy Rader in 21st at 12:47 to round out the scoring. Also for the OBU women, Katie Engstrom was 24th, Sarah Hale was 28th. Chandra Hucakbay was 29th, Kendra Ray was 30th and Andrea Mount was 31st.

The men's meet was a dual for OBU and the Hurricane won 27-29. Ellis won the meet in a time of 20:55, 11 seconds better than Tulsa leader Jacon Schweitzer.

Landon Willets was sixth at 21:25, Theron Stolzfus was seventh at 21:58; Michael Elizondo was ninth at 22:12; and Nathan Battershell was the final scorer, coming in 10th at 23:03.

Also for the Bison, Cole Tynnell was 13th and Jacob Wright 14th.