OBU Spring Commencement to Honor Students, Faculty

May 16, 2001

Oklahoma Baptist University's eighty-seventh annual spring graduation exercises, May 19, will include recognition of 312 graduates and four retiring faculty and staff and a commencement address by OBU President Dr. Mark Brister.

The event begins at 10 a.m. in the university's Raley Chapel.

The retiring faculty members and staff member have collectively dedicated 118 years to the university.

Dr. Shirley Jones, Crouch-Mathis professor of literature and 1958 OBU graduate, has served in a variety of functions in the English department since 1964.

Dr. Don Wester, professor of philosophy, came to OBU in 1968, and Dr. Slayden Yarbrough, Dickinson professor of religion, began his OBU career in 1979.

Clifford Lehmann, graduated from OBU in 1974, and has been supervisor of the Mabee Learning Center's media center since 1975.

The commencement program will also include the announcement of OBU's Promising Teacher, Distinguished Teacher, and Meritorious Service awards.

OBU's commencement speaker became president of the university in 1998. Prior to coming to OBU, Brister was the pastor at Broadmoor Baptist Church in Shreveport, La., Memorial Baptist Church in Baytown, Texas, and First Baptist Church in Bolivar, Mo.

He earned a bachelor's degree from Baylor University and master's and Ph.D. degrees from Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary.

Reserved tickets are required for admission the commencement ceremonies.