OBU Student Publications Win Top-Honors

April 20, 2001

The Oklahoma Baptist University student yearbook and newspaper both placed in this year's Oklahoma Collegiate Press Association competition, officials announced earlier this month.

The OBU Yahnseh placed first in the yearbook general excellence category. The yearbook has received that honor 13 of the last 15 years.

The Bison placed second in newspaper general excellence, an improvement over last year's third place award.

Sophomore Angela Avery placed first in yearbook writing, while senior Brandi Moore placed second and senior Bridget Davidson placed third.

In the newspaper competition, junior John Elliott won first place in features photography; former student Nathanael Pustaver's cartoons earned first place honors, and senior Brooke Hutson was awarded second place in the news writing category.

Students earning honorable mention in the newspaper competition were seniors Jessica Gibson, features writing, and Chris Jeter, investigative reporting; junior Denise Depuy, sports writing; freshmen Brett Denbow, music reviews; and sophomore Matt Donaldson, restaurant reviews.

The competition was judged by the Kansas Collegiate Press Association.