Fifty-four OBU Employees Honored for Service, Dedication

April 11, 2000

Oklahoma Baptist University honored the service and dedication of 54 of it's own employees recently at the university's Service Awards Banquet, Thursday, April 6th.

Peggy Askins, director of academic records/registrar, was honored for 40 years of service to the university.

Thirty-year service award recipients included Judy Kinnamon, testing coordinator; Dr. Ron Lewis, professor of music; Diane Shank, catalog librarian; and Dr. Don Wester, professor of philosophy.

Cliff Lehmann, supervisor of the Media Center, and Sandra Meyer, associate professor of music, were honored for 25 years of service to the university.

Twenty-year service award recipients included Dr. Debbie Blue, dean, college of arts and sciences; Roger Flint, assistant professor of accounting; Steve Hicks, associate professor of art; Dr. Dick Rader, dean of the school of Christian service/vice president for religious life; Dr. Doug Watson, professor of English; and Dr. Tom Wilks, Jewell and Joe L. Huitt professor in religious education/professor of applied ministry.

Fifteen-year service award recipients included Marilee Breedlove, administrative assistant to the director of Ministry Training Institutes; Dr. Robert Dawson, associate professor of applied ministry; Dr. Roger Hadley, professor of telecommunication; Dr. Cindy Hanchey, associate professor of computer science; Dale Hanchey, McCasland associate professor of computer science; Cindy Hicks, director of listening lab; Dr. Carol Humphrey, professor of history; Rick McKey, carpenter; Dr. Bill Mullins, professor of history; Dr. Mack Roark, Ruth Dickinson professor of Bible; and Sylvia Winterowd, director of development for support services.

Ten-year service award recipients included Dr. Kaylene Barbe, associate professor of communication arts; Cindy Bartley, assistant dean of admissions; Dr. Carol Ann Bell, associate professor of piano; Becky Cragin, controller; Dr. Ron Duncan, professor of anthropology; Dr. Lee Goen, Dickinson Chair/associate professor of business; Conchita Hansford, instructor in music/director of preparatory department; Dr. Jim Hansford, professor of music/director of bands; Dr. Eileen Hargrove, associate professor of mathematics; Dr. Lucrecia Litherland, associate professor of language; Dr. Tony Litherland, associate professor of political science; Dr. Linda McElroy, professor of HPER; Monica Mullins, assistant dean of students; Bill Pope, staff photographer; and Dr. James Vernon, associate professor of music.

Five-year service award recipients included Dr. Christopher Bade, assistant professor of music; Gary Bohannon, carpenter; Deborah Brittain, secretary, student services; Laura Byland, instructor of theatre; Nola Dobyns, secretary, development; Dr. Darla Eshelman, associate professor of music education; Dr. Ann Gipson, assistant professor of piano; Randy Morrison, director of graphic services; Robert Newport, groundsman; Tina Nickerson, secretary, teacher education; Deborah O'Gwynn, admissions special events coordinator; Randy Smith, assistant vice president for business affairs; Dr. Doug Swanson, assistant professor of journalism; Iona Vernell, ward serials/documents assistant; and Kim Watson, instructor of music.