OBU Honors 448 Years of Service

Recognizing a combined 448 years of service to the institution, Oklahoma Baptist University honored 34 faculty and staff members during the university's annual Service Awards Banquet April 9.

Those honored included (front row, from left) Dr. Sherry Raney, Keely Robertson, Dr. Robbie Mullins, Lyn Hughey, Deborah Alt, Dr. Sid Watson; (second row, from left) Terry Banta, Larry Walker, Bobby Canty, Dr. John Farris, Courtney See, Dr. Karen Youmans, Dr. Kristen Todd; (back row, from left) Dr. Brian Camp, Nathan Kraft, Dr. William Hagen, Gary Nickerson, Dr. Kevin Hall, Trent Argo, Wayne Rhea, and Alan Dodgion.

Wayne Rhea, assistant professor of mathematics, was honored for 43 years of service at the University as he prepares to retire at the end of the 2008-09 academic year. Rhea earned a bachelor's degree from Baylor University and a master's degree from Oklahoma State University. He joined the OBU faculty in 1966, and was awarded OBU's Meritorious Service Award, for faithful service to OBU, in 2002.

Dr. William Hagen, professor of English, was honored for 35 years at the University. Alan Dodgion, plumber in Facilities Management and Services, and Larry Walker, director of campus services, were honored for 30 years of service.

Three individuals were honored for a quarter-century of service, including Bobby Canty, dean of students; Bill Holley, interim senior vice president for university advancement; and Dr. Robbie Mullins, Lawrence Peitz Chair / Professor of Business.

Those honored for 20 years of service were Gary Nickerson, assistant vice president for business affairs, information systems and services; Mary Price, circulation supervisor; and Dr. Dale Utt, associate professor of biology.

Three individuals were recognized for 15 years of service, including Ray Fink, sports information director; Dr. Kevin Hall, Ida Elizabeth and J.W. Hollums Chair of Bible / Professor of Religion; and Dr. Sherri Raney, associate professor of history and political science.

Five people were honored for a decade of service at OBU, including Michael Bruce, assistant professor of telecommunications; Cindy Hines, assistant director of admissions; Dr. Kristen Todd, associate professor of music; Dr. Sid Watson, associate professor of English; and Dr. Karen Youmans, associate professor of English.

Those honored for five years of service included Deborah Alt, secretary, alumni; Trent Argo, dean of enrollment management; Terry Banta, groundskeeper; Dr. Brian Camp, professor of family science; Brent Coates, head men's / women's soccer coach and instructor of kinesiology and leisure studies (KALS); Dr. John Farris, director of teacher education and associate professor of education; Lyn Hughey, secretary, KALS; and Zach Johnson, assistant track coach and head junior varsity coach.

Also honored for five years service were Nathan Kraft, programmer analyst; Janice Powell, admissions office administrator; Dr. John Powell, associate professor of history; Keely Robertson, director and instructor of the Intensive English Program; Gary Robison, assistant director of Facilities Management and Services; Courtney See, assistant director of admissions / transfer admissions counselor; Kyle Tolin, assistant varsity and head junior varsity men's basketball coach; and Jason Young, HVAC technician.