Higher Learning Commission (HLC) Reaffirmation of Accreditation

OBU is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) of the North Central Association, which reviews colleges and universities every 10 years to ensure institutions meet the HLC's criteria for accreditation through a peer review process. OBU has been accredited since 1952 and received its last reaffirmation of accreditation in 2007-2008. OBU is scheduled to be reviewed for reaffirmation of accreditation during the 2017-2018 academic year. 

The HLC's Board of Trustees adopted new Criteria for AccreditationAssumed Practices, and Obligations of Affiliation in February 2012 that became effective on January 1, 2013. The five Criteria for Accreditation include

  1. Mission
  2. Integrity: Ethical and responsible conduct
  3. Teaching and Learning: Quality, Resources, and Support
  4. Teaching and Learning: Evaluation and Improvement
  5. Resources, Planning, and Institutional Effectiveness

HLC Steering Committee @ OBU

In order for OBU to provide a comprehensive, evidence-based Assurance Argument to HLC, OBU has organized a steering committee comprised of faculty and administrators to guide the university's reaffirmation efforts. An orientation session for the full HLC Steering Committee was held Friday, February 27, 2015. Members of the Steering Committee, organized by Criterion committees, include the following:

Criterion 1

  • Rhonda Richards*
  • Dale Griffin
  • Glenn Sanders
  • Will Smallwood

Criterion 2

  • David Houghton*
  • Brandon Skaggs
  • Karen Cotter
  • Scott Pace

Criterion 3

  • Brad Jett*
  • Craig Walker
  • Jeanne Akin
  • Paul Roberts

Criterion 4

  • Bret Roark*
  • Gina Kraft
  • James Vernon
  • Pam Robinson
  • Sarah Marsh

Criterion 5

  • Michael Travers*
  • Bruce Perkins
  • Randolph Johnson
  • Randy Smith