Oklahoma Baptist University

Spring Chapels Focus on ‘The Psalms’

During the spring 2013 semester, the OBU community will continue its current chapel theme, “The Psalms,” with messages presented by a variety of speakers. “The Treasury of David” by Charles Spurgeon will be used as a resource for the ongoing study.

All chapel services begin at 10 a.m. in Raley Chapel’s Potter Auditorium (unless otherwise noted). The community is invited to attend the hour-long services which include worship, often led by OBU student musicians.

The spring series will launch Wednesday, Jan. 30, with music and a message presented by Richard Allen Farmer, a musician and lecturer who has been featured in England, Korea, Malaysia, Taiwan, Japan, Thailand, Australia, Mali, Burkina Faso, Guinea, Peru, Cote d’lvoire, Kenya, Gabon, Chile, Aruba, Canada, Haiti, France, the Philippines, Papua New Guinea and most of the United States.

Other topics and speakers for chapel services during the spring semester include:

Friday, Feb. 1 –- Student-led chapel

Wednesday, Feb. 6 –- Tom Terry, vice president for business affairs emeritus and former university archivist, will present the 2013 Founder’s Day address. Founder’s Day is set aside to remember the vision, mission and convictions of the founders of OBU.

Friday, Feb. 8 –- Class chapel (meetings for individual classes: freshmen in Potter Auditorium; sophomores in Yarborough Auditorium; juniors in Stubblefield Chapel; and seniors in Montgomery Hall lounge).

Monday, Feb. 11 –- Focus Week. OBU’s annual Focus Week is dedicated to helping members of the OBU community strengthen relationships.

Wednesday, Feb. 13 –- Focus Week

Friday, Feb. 15 –- Focus Week. Jackson Dunn, director of marriage and family formation at Focus on the Family, will speak.

Wednesday, Feb. 20 -– T. W. Shannon, Speaker of the Oklahoma House of Representatives, will bring the chapel message.

Monday, Feb. 25 –- Champions of Character assembly in the Noble Complex. The NAIA Champions of Character program is committed to the true spirit of competition through five tenets: integrity, respect, responsibility, sportsmanship and servant leadership.

Wednesday, Feb. 27 –- Dr. Scott Pace, who serves as Reverend A.E. and Dora Johnson Hughes Chair of Christian Ministry, will speak.

Friday, March 1 –- Student-led chapel

Wednesday, March 6 -– Tullian Tchividjian (pronounced cha-vi-jin) will speak over Psalm 103:8-12. Tchividjian is the senior pastor of Coral Ridge Presbyterian Church in Ft. Lauderdale, Fla., and the grandson of Billy and Ruth Graham. Tchividjian also will speak at 8 p.m. in Potter Auditorium as part of the Glorious Ruin Tour.

Wednesday, March 13 –- Student preacher Kasey Chapman, a senior from Elmore City, Okla., will speak.

Monday, March 25 –- Class chapel (meetings for individual classes: freshmen in Potter Auditorium; sophomores in Yarborough Auditorium; juniors in Stubblefield Chapel; and seniors in the upper Geiger Center).

Wednesday, March 27 –- Holy Week chapel featuring faculty and students from the Warren M. Angell College of Fine Arts, directed by Dr. Ken Gabrielse, dean of the College of Fine Arts.

Wednesday, April 3 –- Christopher Yuan, author and professor at Moody Bible Institute, will speak. He is featured in the award-winning documentary, “HOPE Positive: Surviving the Sentence of AIDS,” and has co-authored with his mother, “Out of a Far Country.”

Friday, April 5 -– Student-led chapel

Monday, April 8 –- Champions of Character assembly in the Noble Complex.

Wednesday, April 10 –- Hyde Park Chapel. Candidates for OBU’s elected student leadership will have the opportunity to offer speeches.

Monday, April 15 –- Blitz Week Chapel. Blitz Week at OBU is a fun-filled week of activities to raise money for various non-profit organizations or humanitarian efforts.

Wednesday, April 17 –- Student assessment (no corporate chapel service)

Friday, April 19 –- Student-led chapel will be conducted at University Baptist Church in Shawnee.

Monday, April 22 –- Dr. Fred Luter, president of the Southern Baptist Convention, will speak.

Wednesday, April 24 –- Jeannie Elliff, wife of International Mission Board President Tom Elliff, will speak during Woman’s Mission and Ministry Day. The day traditionally is set aside at OBU to celebrate the role of women in Southern Baptist missions and ministries.

Wednesday, May 1 -– Global Outreach Commissioning Chapel, a service traditionally set aside to commission OBU students for summer missions endeavors.

Wednesday, May 8 –- Awards Convocation, recognizing the top senior students in each College.

For more information about OBU chapel services, contact OBU Campus Ministry at (405) 585-5700.

Share This Page: