Oklahoma Baptist University

2012-13 Chapels to Focus on ‘The Psalms’

During the 2012-13 academic year, the OBU community will hear a variety of speakers bring messages on the current chapel theme, “The Psalms,” with “The Treasury of David” by Charles Spurgeon used as a resource for the study.

All chapel services begin at 10 a.m. in Raley Chapel’s Potter Auditorium (unless otherwise noted). The community is invited to attend the hour-long services which include worship led by OBU student musicians.

The series launched on Wednesday, Sept. 5, with a theme interpretation presented by Dr. Christian George, who serves as the Jewell and Joe L. Huitt assistant professor of religious education.

Other topics and speakers for chapel services during the fall semester include:

Monday, Sept. 10 – Global Outreach Week, student-led chapel. Global Outreach (GO) Week is a concerted effort to mobilize OBU students to engage in missions endeavors.

Wednesday, Sept. 12 – Global Outreach Week. Dr. Randy Adams, leader of the Church Outreach Team of the Baptist General Convention of Oklahoma, will speak on Psalm 67.

Friday, Sept. 14 – Global Outreach Week, student-led chapel

Monday, Sept. 17 – Champions of Character assembly in the Noble Complex. The NAIA Champions of Character program is committed to the true spirit of competition through five tenets: integrity, respect, responsibility, sportsmanship and servant leadership.

Wednesday, Sept. 19 – Dr. Bob Agee, president emeritus of OBU, will speak on "Finding the Source of Courage to Be and to Do," based on Psalm 91. Dr. Agee served as OBU's 13th president from 1982-98. He now serves as a professor of educational leadership and special assistant to the president of Union University. He also is a founder and senior consultant for Agee, Stewart & Allen Development Services.

Wednesday, Sept. 26 – Dr. Rebekah Naylor will speak on Psalm 139. For more than 30 years, Naylor served with the International Mission Board of the Southern Baptist Convention in Bangalore, India, as the administrator and chief surgeon and physician of Bangalore Hospital.

Friday, Sept. 28 – student-led chapel

Wednesday, Oct. 3 – Dr. Bobby Kelly will speak on Psalm 39. Kelly is the Ruth Dickinson Professor of Religion at OBU.

Monday, Oct. 8 – Class chapel (meetings for individual classes: freshmen in Potter Auditorium; sophomores in Yarborough Auditorium; juniors in Stubblefield Chapel; and seniors in Geiger Center 218-220).

Wednesday, Oct. 10 – Dr. Scott Pace, who serves as the Reverend A.E. and Dora Johnson Hughes Chair of Christian Ministry at OBU, will speak.

Monday, Oct. 15 – Be-a-Bison Day, student-led chapel. On Be-a-Bison Day, future freshmen have the opportunity to see what OBU is like first-hand.

Wednesday, Oct. 17 – Dr. Louima Lilite will speak on Psalm 16. Lilite is assistant professor of music at OBU.

Monday, Oct. 22 – student-led chapel

Wednesday, Oct. 24 – Dr. Kevin Ezell will speak. Ezell is president of the North American Mission Board of the Southern Baptist Convention.

Wednesday, Oct. 31 – Dr. Ken Fentriss will present the fall Hobbs Lecture. Fentriss is the senior pastor of Montrose Baptist Church in Rockville, Md. The Hobbs Lecture is one of four OBU lectureships designed to help students grow in their knowledge of Baptist theology, Baptist history and studies of the Bible.

Friday, Nov. 2 – Champions of Character assembly in the Noble Complex

Monday, Nov. 5 – student-led chapel

Wednesday, Nov. 7 – Spirit Assembly in the Noble Complex. The Spirit Assembly allows the OBU community an opportunity to cheer for the Bison and Lady Bison basketball teams prior to the Homecoming double-header.

Saturday, Nov. 10 – Homecoming Chapel

Wednesday, Nov. 14 – Dr. Ish Mudliar will speak on Psalm 19. Mudliar is associate professor of religion at OBU.

Friday, Nov. 16 – student-led chapel

Wednesday, Nov. 28 – Elizabeth Bird will speak on Psalm 46.

Saturday, Dec. 1 – 75th annual “Hanging of the Green,” OBU’s traditional Christmas celebration, 7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, Dec. 5 - Fine Arts Christmas Chapel

For more information about OBU chapel services, contact OBU Campus Ministry at (405) 585-5700.

Share: