72nd Annual ‘Hanging of the Green’ Celebrates Centennial

Oklahoma Baptist University's 72nd annual "Hanging of the Green" Christmas celebration will honor the University's Centennial anniversary with a reflection on the music and programs that helped shaped the holiday tradition on Bison Hill. The community is invited to celebrate Christmas with the Hanging of the Green on Saturday, Dec. 5, at 7:30 p.m. in Raley Chapel.

The first OBU Hanging of the Green ceremony was in WMU Memorial Hall in 1937. After the singing of carols, representatives from all dormitories lit candles of good will from the candle there and carried the light to their own houses. The custom of Hanging of the Green has continued through the years. It moved in 1945 to the newly completed Brittain Hall, in 1957 to the University Auditorium, and in 1961 to John Wesley Raley Chapel.

Traditionally, 20 outstanding seniors are nominated and selected by the faculty as honorees for the evening. These students are seen to embody the OBU ideals and represent a wide variety of majors, disciplines and hometowns.

The honorees include (front row, from left) Danielle Cummins, Kelly Scatton, Andrea Gates, Da-Nell Rogers, Cari Barton, Brianna Shippy, Natalie Mowery, (second row, from left) Joshua Mugler, Anne Risch, Spring Butler, Brent Schmidt, Luke Small, (back row, from left) Ian Hockett, Justin Stroup, Kyle Coleman, Allen Burmeister, David Giaco and Matthew Richie. Not pictured are Scott Meyers and Katie Dominguez.

This year's honorees include: Cari Barton, a psychology/pre-counseling major from Flagstaff, Ariz.; Allen Burmeister, a camp administration major from Peoria, Ariz.; Spring Butler, a piano performance major from Grapevine, Texas; Kyle Coleman, an accounting major from Sand Springs, Okla.; Danielle Cummins, an accounting major from Rogers, Ark.; Katie Dominguez, a nursing major from El Dorado, Ark.; Andrea Gates, an electronic media/Spanish major from Plano, Texas; David Giaco, a trombone/music education major from St. Charles, Mo.; Ian Hockett, a composition major from Dallas, Texas; and Scott Meyers, a nursing major from Sherman, Texas.

Also honored will be: Natalie Mowery, a finance major from Owasso, Okla.; Joshua Mugler, a Bible major from St. Peters, Mo.; Matthew Richie, an electronic media major from Fort Gibson, Okla.; Anne Risch, an English/Bible major from Topeka, Kan.; Da-Nell Rogers, a strategic communication major from Casa Grande, Ariz.; Kelly Scatton, a nursing major from Lake Forest, Calif.; Brent Schmidt, an English major from Bartlesville, Okla.; Brianna Shippy, a mathematics major from Odessa, Texas; Luke Small, an electronic media major from Owasso, Okla.; and Justin Stroup, a management/marketing major from Mesquite, Texas.

The Christmas program will include musical arrangements by Mary Kay Higginbotham Parrish, a 1962 graduate and professor emerita of music from 1964-2002; Nancy Hill Cobb Lippens, a 1973 graduate and professor of music from 1976-2002; Warren Angell, Dean Emeritus of the Warren M. Angell College of Fine Arts from 1936-1973; Hart Morris, a 1969 graduate; and Craig Phillips, a 1983 graduate. It also will include a poem by Dr. William Mitchell, professor emeritus of English from 1958-1997.

In addition to an alumni handbell ringers ensemble, performers will include OBU's musicians in the Bison Glee Club, Bisonette Glee Club, Cantare Capella, University Chorale and the OBU/Shawnee Community Orchestra.

For more information, contact the OBU Division of Music at (405) 878-2305.