Hall Selected to Lead Faculty Council

Dr. Kevin Hall, Oklahoma Baptist University Hollums Chair of Bible and Professor of Religion, recently was elected by his peers to serve as chair of OBU's Faculty Council during the 2009-10 academic year. The council acts as a representative body of the faculty, serving as a liaison between the faculty and administration of the University in promoting excellence in the overall mission of OBU.

Hall received his bachelor's degree from Baylor University. He earned his master's degree and his doctorate from Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary. Along with teaching all levels of religion courses, Hall is a contributing writer to the Biblical Illustrator. He has written for the Southwestern Journal of Theology and is a contributor to the Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible. In 1999, he received OBU's Promising Teacher Award.

The OBU faculty elects members of the Faculty Council during the spring semester by secret ballot.

Other members of the 2009-10 Faculty Council include Dr. Karen Youmans, associate professor of English, as chair-elect, and Dr. Ben Myers, associate professor of English, as secretary. Dr. Jerry Faught, Dickinson associate professor of religion, will represent the Joe L. Ingram School of Christian Service; Dr. Rich Rudebock, Robert L. and Sara Lou Cargill associate professor of business, will represent the Paul Dickinson School of Business; and Dr. Jasmin Johnson, assistant professor of nursing, will represent the School of Nursing. Representing the Warren M. Angell College of Fine Arts will be Dr. Kristen Todd, associate professor of music and Julie Blackstone, assistant professor of art. Representing the College of Arts and Sciences will be Dr. Brian Camp, professor of family science; Dr. Karen Longest, assistant professor of psychology; and Timothy McCollum, assistant professor of anthropology.

The 2008-09 Faculty Council was chaired by Dr. Craig Walker, Wheeler professor of economics. Other 2008-09 Faculty Council members included Dr. Bobby Kelly, Ruth Dickinson professor of religion; Dr. Michael Jordan, assistant professor of chemistry; Dr. Dan Reeder, Albert J. Geiger chair of business, professor of finance; Dr. James Vernon, associate professor of music; Dr. Mark McQuade, assistant professor of music; Dr. Robbie Henson, associate professor of nursing; Hall; Longest; Camp; and Youmans.