Shawnee Honor Choir Spring Concert April 27

Shawnee Honor Choir, an auditioned group of 56 third- through seventh-grade students, will present its spring concert Sunday, April 27, at 3 p.m. in Oklahoma Baptist University's Yarborough Auditorium.

The choir's students represent 17 schools in the greater Shawnee area. The group is directed by Conchita Hansford, director of OBU's Preparatory Department and assistant professor of music. Laura Whitmore, choral director at Shawnee Middle School, serves as accompanist.

Shawnee Honor Choir is part of the Young Singers of Central Oklahoma program, coordinated by the Warren M. Angell College of Fine Arts at Oklahoma Baptist University.

The concert is free and open to the public. Yarborough Auditorium is located on the lower level of OBU's Raley Chapel.

In addition to fall and spring formal concerts, Shawnee Honor Choir performs in 12 schools each year, and sings at various community events. The choir has performed at the Oklahoma Music Educators Association Convention four times.

This month, the choir's schedule includes school performances at Russell Babb Elementary in Harrah, Grove, North Rock Creek, Liberty Academy, Sequoyah Elementary and Will Rogers Elementary.

The April 27 concert will open with "Cantate Hodie," a festival piece by Mary Lynn Lightfoot. Other selections include "I Will Sing," by Ruth Elaine Schram; "Jingle at the Window," an American folk song, arranged by Ruth E. Dwyer; Stephen Lawrence's "Listen to the Rain," which includes audience participation; and "Kookaburra," an Australian folk song arranged by Melissa Keylock and Jill Friedersdorf. The program will conclude with an arrangement of "Joshua" by Joseph Martin.

The concert also will feature Orff instrumentalists performing a piece by Carl Orff. The instrumentalists include Graham Griffin and Joseph Brasher, soprano glockenspiels; Madison Auld and Abbey Beeson, alto glockenspiels; Anna Henson and Beth Brasher, soprano xylophones; Alisha Wood and Rachel Wright, alto xylophones; Rachel Argo, soprano metallophone; Olivia Wilkinson, alto metallophone; Jacob Iven, bass xylophone; Victoria Lauar, bass metallophone; Leeann Shaw, bass bar; and Bonnie Wilkinson and Andrea Wood, bass drums.

Elizabeth Bronson, Katie Carmichael, Acacia Wooden, Michaela Ramsey, Jordan Gauss, Ansley Elliott and Gillian Gauss will present introductions for the concert selections.

The program will conclude with an audience sing-a-long of patriotic songs, accompanied by hand chimes. The chime performers include Chloe Anderson, Carlson and Montrey Bond, Elizabeth Bronson, Mikayla Fest, Allie Frank, Gillian and Jordan Gauss, Matthew Harris, Haleigh Jones, Summer Kannady, Bailey Kasterke, Kaeley Mastin, Cassandra and Sylvia Misa, Darby Myers, Holly Naylor, Emily Pryor, Michaela Ramsey, Johnathon Richardson, Kimberly Ross, Samantha Schultz, Memery Sloan, Hailey Storrie, Kristin Wollam, and Emily and Lauren Yoakum.

Schools represented in Shawnee Honor Choir include Cross Timbers Elementary in Tecumseh, Dale, Family of Faith, Grove, home school students, Jefferson Elementary, Konawa Middle School, Liberty Academy, McLoud Elementary, McLoud Middle School, North Rock Creek, Russell Babb Elementary in Harrah, Sequoyah Elementary, Shawnee Middle School, South Rock Creek, Tecumseh Middle School and Will Rogers Elementary.

College student assistants with Shawnee Honor Choir are Whitni Butler, junior music education major, and Meghan Loyd, freshman music education major.