OBU Telecommunication Students Honored

For the fourth consecutive year, Oklahoma Baptist University led all of the state’s colleges and universities in awards at the Oklahoma Broadcast Education Association student competition. OBU students took home 18 awards at the recent OBEA presentations in Oklahoma City.

OBU Telecommunication students received 18 awards at the OBEA competition. The award recipients include (L to R): Joshua Keeney, Derek Watson, Abby Hess, Andrew DeClue, Danna Taulbee, Bethany Chadderdon, Jason Brown, Owen Wildman, HR Sweat, Jamie Pent, Amber McCune, Christi Mitchell.

The awards program was held in conjunction with the Oklahoma Association of Broadcasters annual convention. Judges were independent professional broadcasters and journalists from Oklahoma media outlets.

Following OBU, the University of Central Oklahoma received 12 awards, and Oklahoma State University claimed 10 awards.

Derek Watson, an OBU senior from Granbury, Texas, won first place honors in TV feature news and TV commercial; second place awards in TV documentary, TV entertainment and TV spot news; and a third place honor in TV newscast.

Oklahoma City senior Jason Brown placed first in TV public service announcement and second in music video. Abby Hess, a senior from Edmond, Okla., claimed first place in TV Spot News; and senior Danna Taulbee, from White Settlement, Texas, won first place in TV newscast for News 30.

H.R. Sweat, a senior from Van Alstyne, Texas, won second place honors for interactive media and third place honors for music video and TV feature news. Bethany Chadderdon, a senior from Leavenworth, Kan., placed second for TV photography and TV sports play-by-play.

Junior Jacob Wright, from Shawnee, Okla., won first place for sports play-by-play for Bison basketball. Fort Worth, Texas, junior Amber McCune won second place for radio entertainment.

Owen Wildman, a sophomore from Mayer, Ariz., shared third place with freshman Christi Mitchell, a freshman from Blair, Okla., for radio commercial.

OBU students also have excelled in recent scholarship competitions.

Hess and Mitchell recently returned from the Broadcast Leadership School in Washington D.C. They won scholarships to attend the school. In addition, Wildman received a $1,000 scholarship from the Oklahoma Association of Broadcasters.

“I am no longer amazed at our success,” said Dr. Roger Hadley, chair of OBU’s communication arts division. “I am just plain proud of these students because they experienced how hard work pays off. Derek Watson’s six awards are just phenomenal.”

“I think the success of our students is a testament to our outstanding telecommunication faculty,” said Watson. “They are the reason that OBU is not only competitive with larger schools with bigger budgets, but also surpasses them in the OBEA competition.”

Taulbee admitted she was shocked with the TV newscast award. “I don’t think a lot of people would think this would happen,” she said. “Producing a television newscast takes a lot of people, and everyone worked hard for me.”

The students’ work can be seen at the third annual Bison Film Festival in OBU’s Craig-Dorland Theatre on Wednesday, May 10, at 7 p.m. The public is invited at no charge.