Oklahoma Baptist University

Parrish Named President of State Education Heritage Society

With nearly four decades of experience in Oklahoma higher education administration, John Parrish, Oklahoma Baptist University executive vice president emeritus, is serving as president of Oklahoma Higher Education Heritage Society for 2006. He was elected vice president of the society in 2005.

“The society has board members representing public and private higher education in the state of Oklahoma, and its purpose is to preserve Oklahoma higher education history and promote higher education in the state,” said Parrish whose OBU career spans 38 years. He joined the university’s faculty and administrative staff in 1964.

Serving as the university’s director of public relations in the 1960s and 70s, Parrish filled many roles during his years at OBU, including assistant professor of journalism, director of alumni and annual giving, assistant vice president for development, vice president for institutional advancement and as executive vice president and chief financial officer. He retired in December 2002.

As OHEHS president, Parrish will direct the organization’s mission of promoting higher education in Oklahoma through three primary programs – the Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame, the Higher Education Exhibit and the Higher Education Archive.

Five members of the Hall of Fame are from OBU, including former university presidents Dr. John W. Raley and Dr. Bob R. Agee. Juanita Millsap, professor emeritus of nursing; Dr. James E. Hurley, professor emeritus of biology; and recent inductee Dr. Warren M. Angell, former dean of Warren M. Angell College of Fine Arts, complete the list of hall of fame members from OBU.

The OHEHS began in 1991 as The Friends of Old Central and later was known as The Friends of the Oklahoma Museum of Higher Education. In 2003, the organization’s name was changed to its current title, and offices for the organization were relocated from Stillwater in Oklahoma City.