OBU Leads at OBEA Again

For the third consecutive year, Oklahoma Baptist University has led its Oklahoma peers, winning 10 of 25 events awarded at the Oklahoma Broadcast Education Association’s student competition.

The OBEA competition was held April 1 in conjunction with the Oklahoma Association of Broadcasters annual convention in Tulsa. Judges were independent professional broadcasters and journalists from Oklahoma media outlets.

“Ten first place awards is phenomenal. We won seven firsts last year and 13 the year before. And, remember we’re competing against the best and brightest that the state of Oklahoma has to offer,” said Dr. Roger Hadley, professor of telecommunication. “This year’s group of students felt that they had something to prove after following two outstanding senior classes. They showed the judges and the competition that they were worthy.”

Oklahoma City junior Jason Brown won first place in TV spot news, first place in TV commercial, and first place in radio feature news.

Bethany Chadderdon, a junior from Leavenworth, Kan., won first place in TV sports play-by-play.

Kirk Meyers, Sherman, Texas, senior, won first place in TV feature news, first place in TV entertainment, second place in TV PSA and second place in TV promotion.

HR Sweat, a junior from Van Alstyne, Texas, won first place in music video.

Miami, Fla., senior Matt Tinley won first place in TV PSA and third place in TV feature news.

Derek Watson, a junior from Granbury, Texas, won first place in TV promotions, second place in TV newscast, second place in TV magazine show, first place in interactive media, and third place in TV entertainment.

Kim Webb, Shawnee senior, won second place in TV feature news.

Four of the categories represent quite a winning streak. For four straight years, OBU students have won first place for TV entertainment. For three years in a row, OBU has won first place in three categories: TV PSA, TV spot news, and TV feature news.

A number of these award winners will be featured at the third annual film festival in Craig-Dorland theatre at 8 p.m. on Thursday, May 5.

The festival is open to the public. Admission is free. Refreshments will be served.